Philip Markwat's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 40% response rate
  • Last login 9 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Philip’s full profile.

Overview

  • 191 references 177 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Dutch
  • 44, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Financial Manager
  • BA with majors in Poli.Sci. and Philosophy from U of Melb...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

The boyfriend has just moved in. While we settle in to the new situation it is unlikely we will host. But soon we will host for preferably one person at a time. (The house is very small so it gets two crowded with 4 people home at one time.)

CURRENT MISSION Hosting adventurous couch surfers in the city of sin! ABOUT ME I was born in the USA, went to University in Melbourne Australia and have been living in Amsterdam for the last 20 years. I currently live alone but with my 9 year old Jack Russel mix called Jinx. From photos it may be hard to determine how big she is but she is small (under 7 kg) and extremely well behaved. When making your request to me please just mention the dog so I know that you have read the profile and you are ok staying in a house with a pet. I am an open-minded and laid back person who is comfortable in my own skin. My house offers very little in the way of privacy so I have become comfortable with people seeing me naked on the way from bed to the shower and as I live my life. I prefer to also host people that are not too shy and can stay very relaxed about nudity and the lack of privacy. However, my goal is to ensure that you are comfortable. As you can see from my reviews this has never been an issue in the past.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

PLEASE NOTE: My couch is really only open for persons who have stayed with me before or have met while travelling. Because my partner Luke has moved in there is a little less opportunity to host. You can always try and request but I rarely accept these days!

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING I like to host world travelers and discuss our experiences in different countries. I love Amsterdam and think it is one of the best cities in the world... I'd love to show it off and give you tips on the best coffee shops, bars, and clubs to hit. I fully realise that people come to Amsterdam for many different reasons. Whether you come for the weed, the red light district, the gay bars/clubs, parties, late night clubbing, museums, galleries, sports... I am ok with it all! I am a very laid back host and have no rules about what time you need to come home and such. I want you to have fun in Amsterdam and enjoy it as much as I do. I just ask that you be relaxed, chilled, and laidback -- I'll invite you to smoke a joint with me on the balcony and relax! Racists, bigots, and homophobes can pick another host. I try to answer all the requests and messages but since Amsterdam is a very small place with many tourists I can get 15 requests (or more) a day!! A one line request with just your dates may not inspire me to write back quickly or at all! Make an effort and let me know what makes you unique and why I should host you! Also, PLEASE NOTE: It is very unlikely that I will answer requests sent only through the messages section. Because I get so many requests, please make an actual official request with actual dates so that you are not disappointed. The house is now completely renewed, modern, and the ideal bachelor's pad with renovations completed in July 2018. The long renovation process is why you may see the long gap in my references. The references from before 2018 refer to the old layout/setup of the house while the reviews from 2018 onward concern the renovated house.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE When I travel around the world I usually stay in hotels... but i enjoy hosting people and have been doing it for years with people I meet through other profile sites. I've always had good experiences. As you can see I have been a member since 2009. During the past 10 years I have hosted more than 800 people! I would like to eventually be able to colour my hosting map completely orange. According to CouchSurfing, I have hosted people from 49 countries -- unfortunately I think it may only be showing the countries of people who have actually left references. Help me complete the globe by leaving references!

Interests

Reading, photography, travel (obviously)...

  • pets
  • dogs
  • photography
  • festivals
  • dining
  • cooking
  • beer
  • coffee
  • vegetarian
  • walking
  • partying
  • clubbing
  • reading
  • traveling
  • knitting
  • sports
  • football
  • gayfriendly
  • nude beaches
  • gays

Music, Movies, and Books

IG: @pmarkwat

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

One of the most amazing things I have ever seen is the Vegetarian Festival in Phuket, Thailand. Not only is the food incredible, some of the things the participants do (piercing their faces, walking on hot coals, climbing up ladders made of swords) will amaze you. Some of the best photos I have ever taken were of the events around this festival.

Teach, Learn, Share

I’d be happy to teach you my knitting skills (socks are a speciality) or to teach you some cooking and local Dutch dishes. I’d love to learn to make anything local to your country/city that can be made from fresh ingredients.

CouchSurfing Friend Requests? Don't bother sending them unless we have actually met in person. I will ignore them ALWAYS.

What I Can Share with Hosts

*Hetero Friendly
*Gay / Bi / Queer Friendly
*Nudist Friendly
*Vegetarian Friendly

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Belgium, Cambodia, Canada, China, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Lithuania, Malaysia, Malta, Morocco, Portugal, Russian Federation, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Netherlands, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    2 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Philip’s full profile.

My Groups