Pamela Olmstead

Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 2 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Pamela’s full profile. It’s free!


  • project administration
  • finishing my BSc in Biology
  • From Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Uncomplicated and easy-going, I'm a person with a lot of energy (borderline radioactive) and I work really hard to help others and make people happy. I'm a bit nerdy - I like video games and poker, but all sorts of little things make me really happy. On the one hand I'm logical and obsessively organized, but I'm also rather romantic. I like fairy tales, stars, castles, petting trees, magic, colourful fruit, fate, cupcakes, getting flowers, etc.

I was born and (mostly) raised in beautiful Vancouver, Canada. I do a lot of volunteer work and spend most of my free time outside, with my boyfriend and my friends. I'm interested in sustainable agriculture and resource management, and I like learning about food systems in different countries. I'm very friendly and considerate, and I'm good at meeting new people and planning events.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I've had the best three years with people from CS. I've been on cool day trips and spent time at events with amazing people from all over the world. My favorite is the organized hiking trips but I like going to the beach, checking out festivals, having drinks, etc. I've organized weekly meetups and other events in Vancouver and I moderate the CS Vancouver Facebook Group. I backpacked around Europe in summer 2013 and while I was there I surfed, ride-shared and went to tons of events. I spent summer 2014 in Germany with my boyfriend, couch crashed in Hamburg and helped out at the Big Franconian Meeting.

I've hosted in my home in Vancouver and I've surfed in Canada, the US, the UK, Germany, Austria, Italy, Slovakia, Lithuania, Estonia and France. No experience is bad and I learn something new every time.


travel, cake, the environment, geocaching, old typewriters, cooking, singing, anime, dinner parties, piano, cycling, hiking, board games, bbqs, fireplaces, shiny things, etc.

Music, Movies, and Books

I like anime and foreign films and I love epic war movies with great one liners.

I like all types of music but I don't really follow music trends. I listen to folk music, alternative, electro, and classical. (Hey Ocean!, The Decemberists, Architecture in Helsinki, The Shins, Arcade Fire, Ed Sheeran, Iron & Wine, Matt Pond PA, Justice, Phoenix, Sigor Ros, Of Monsters and Men, The Faint, The Postal Service)

In the winter I like watching TV. My favourite shows are Game of Thrones and Adventure Time.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

My 10 year old is the most amazing person in the entire world. If you meet him, you will agree.

- backpacked, on my own, through Europe for 3 months
- mountain biking on the Isle of Skye in Scotland
- climbed Morro Rock in Sequoia Natl' Park, California
- walked the walls of Kings Landing in Dubrovnik, Croatia
- saw "the end of the world" with Thomas at Cape Kolka in Latvia

Teach, Learn, Share

I am happy to help newcomers find a job in Vancouver. I know people in a lot of different industries and I'm good at reviewing resumes and giving advice. I'm also good with helping people figure out the Translink system. And I can teach knitting and how to cook simple Thai food, too!

What I Can Share with Hosts

I'm friendly and talkative and I have experience surfing and hosting so I know the value of being respectful and understanding of a persons space and feelings. I love cooking and eating with people. I'm flexible in how I travel - I can do anything on my own, but I'm always happy to have company. I love that we all participate in this project in our way.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, Estonia, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Montenegro, Slovakia, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Germany

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Pamela’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups