Maarten's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 4 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Maarten’s full profile.

Overview

  • 21 references 13 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English; learning French, German, Spanish
  • 34, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Web developer and occasional designer
  • Bachelor in Applied Informatics
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

How I see myself:

I am a sporty, social yet sometimes reserved and humble guy with intact childish enthusiasm. I'm a good listener as I'm genuinely interested in who you are. I enjoy good stories and discussions, especially those with different perspectives than my own.I can be sarcastic. I am brutally honest. I am (or hope to be) humouristic. I kid around. I shouldn't be taken too seriously. I may (read: will probably) test your social boundaries.

What I do:

I started studying Applied Informatics in Belgium, finished the course in Spain, and now I'm working back in Belgium in the IT industry as a web developer consultant. I run, cycle and swim (depending on the season) and I am teaching myself how to play the guitar (meaning I'm not that good at it).

Philosophy:

Live life to the fullest, enjoying simple things with different kinds of people. Being respectful, open-minded and just have plain ol' fun in the process :)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

How I participate:

I mainly surf, show other surfers some of the more beautiful cities in Belgium and attend CS meetings. I rencently moved to a bigger city, so I'm also hosting as much as I can.

My Couchsurfing experience:

2014
Surfing in Wurzburg, Germany.
Surfing in Reims, France.
Hosting Victoria & Laura from CA,USA.

2013
Surfing in Utrecht, the Netherlands.
Surfing in Hamburg, Germany.
Surfing in various places in Denmark.
Hosting various surfers in Ghent.

2012
Surfing in Frankfurt, Germany.
Surfing in Brno & Prague, Czech Republic.
Showing Brugge and Gent to various surfers.

Interests

Especially interested in meeting you :)

To sum up some others:

Playing acoustic guitar
Digital art
Photography
Watching movies & series
Skiing, running, swimming & cycling
Technology and how it evolves
Music, a lot of music
(Pointless) discussions
Good humour

  • arts
  • photography
  • running
  • technology
  • movies
  • music
  • guitar
  • cycling
  • surfing
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • study abroad

Music, Movies, and Books

Music:

I am an eclectic listener. I like all genres and depending on my mood, I favour one over the other. I'm currently enjoying Indie like Mumford & Sons, Beirut and Of Monsters and Men, but I'm equally amazed by the craziness of swing:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rC6JUA8cjoY
I also appreciate Latin music, especially when played by Manu Chao or Macaco.

Movies & Series:

I like movies such as Pulp Fiction, Gran Torino or The Grand Budapest Hotel.
I'm also a big fan of series like Black Books, The IT Crowd, Black Adder, Peep Show,...
Basically anything with a great deal of nonsense :)

Books:

Work In Progress ^^

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I finished my studies while living abroad in Madrid,Spain. Doing such an erasmus project is simply a great experience!

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Czech Republic, Denmark, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Russian Federation, Spain, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Belgium, Spain

Old School Badges

  • 1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Maarten’s full profile.

My Groups