Marc Nasdor's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login 10 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Marc’s full profile.

Overview

  • 33 references 28 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning Hungarian
  • 63, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Art & audio consultant, world music DJ, computer grap...
  • BA from Johns Hopkins University
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

PLEASE READ: I prefer to host musicians, artists, writers who are in their late 20s and older. Not so interested in hosting college students. I prefer to host visiting musicians, artists and writers.

CURRENT MISSION

Currently, making the big move back to my hometown of Baltimore, Maryland. Though living 38 years in diverse New York City, I wish to experience other cultures on their home turfs.

ABOUT ME

I am a poet and global music collector, DJ and more recently a producer, creating tracks combining dance music and film music. Working on next book of poetry; collecting world music and DJ'ing it regularly; traveling (most recently to western France and Yucatan, Mexico). How I make my living: I own a consulting business in the areas of advanced 3D audio for museums and architectural spaces, as well as art consultation.

Music:
https://soundcloud.com/poodiecannon
https://www.mixcloud.com/poodlecannon/

Work:
http://www.poodlecannon.com

Living in the bustle of Brooklyn, New York, I am surrounded by art and music, and try to enjoy every moment of it, but sometimes one must escape the noise and over-stimulation in favor of the natural world (unless Central Park counts).

PHILOSOPHY

My philosophy to explore something every day, whether it be in the mind, or in outer space somewhere. I'm very focused on creative work and discovery. I am also devoted to family and friends, who I consider to be lifelong commitments.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I have regularly hosted couch surfers, but have not couch surfed much through CS before, mainly with friends and relatives. I prefer to host travelers who share some interest with my activities, which are music, literature and art. I hope someday to couch surf on a DJ tour.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Same as above. Have not surfed through Couchsurfing.com yet. As a host, I have had generally positive experiences; a few neutral, but no bad experiences.

Having hosted a number of surfers, at this point I would prefer adults from late 20s and older, who are in the arts or music, or have something interesting to share about their lives in their home countries/states. Couchsuring should be about more than having a free room. It is a human exchange.

If you would like to stay with me, please write some more than "I need a free place to stay."

Interests

World music, poetry, film, bicycling, yoga, travel, reading, meeting people.

  • arts
  • books
  • literature
  • poetry
  • dancing
  • cooking
  • yoga
  • reading
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • music
  • dance music
  • world music
  • business

Music, Movies, and Books

Books: The Master and Margarita, The Good Soldier Svejk, One Hundred Years of Solitude
Movies: Anything by Werner Herzog, Los Viajes del Viento (Ciro Guerra)
Music: Romany (Gypsy) music from all over Europe, cumbias de Colombia and Mexico, and the various remixes from around the world.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Spending a week in a 14th-century farmhouse with the world fusion band Lo'Jo, in Anjou, Loire Valley, France, autumn 2010.

Teach, Learn, Share

I am willing to share my collection of world music with all interested people, as I believe the world will get better the more we learn about each other. I practice this on a weekly basis.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Lots of global music, since I usually travel with my computer. Good cooking: I make great soups, lasagna, and Chinese tea eggs).

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Dominican Republic, France, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Macedonia, Mexico, Netherlands, Serbia, Spain, Venezuela

Countries I’ve Lived In

Hungary, Mexico, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Marc’s full profile.