Daniel and Preethi Harbuck's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 22 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Daniel and Preethi’s full profile.

Overview

  • 20 references 16 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Portuguese; learning French, Kannada, Spanish
  • 40, Other
  • Member since 2009
  • Operations
  • Both Penn grads
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION:
Explore and learn wherever we are.

ABOUT US:

WE LOVE:
- Food...especially cheese. We also love to cook, and are willing to try most things (although Preethi is a vegetarian). Food is the way to our hearts, so if you know how to cook something in particular, we'd love to have you share!
- Exploring DC and other places in our own country
- Books
- Music of all kinds
- Playing with our 5 year old son, 3 year old daughter, and 1 year old son

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

We learned of CS right before we left on our 2009 world trip and LOVED it. We had incredible experiences with every person with whom we stayed, and were able to get to know far more about local customs, foods, and people because of it.

We enjoy hosting, as well, although we are not able to as frequently as we'd like due to our three small children. If you're willing to enjoy the sometimes crazy atmosphere, we'd love to have you. Please note that while we're sure you're a wonderful person and we'd love to try to meet up, we are not able to host first-time surfers because of our children.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

We've surfed in the US, England, France, Peru, Brasil, South Africa, New Zealand, Australia, and Iceland. We are so grateful for the experiences we've had and the people we've met. We've also hosted some fantastic folks from around the world!

Interests

We love people, reading, music, food, hiking/biking/camping, photography, and, of course, traveling!

  • books
  • photography
  • dining
  • cooking
  • cheese
  • vegetarian
  • reading
  • traveling
  • music
  • piano
  • violin
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • camping
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

Books: A Tree Grows in Brooklyn, The Tempest, The Giver, The Scarlet Letter, Brave New World, Mountains Beyond Mountains, Harry Potter, The Wright Brothers.

Movies: Rudy, The Truman Show, The Princess Bride

Music: James Taylor, Billy Joel, Michael Buble, Coldplay, Rascal Flatts, Handel.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Daniel lived in Brasil for 2 years. Preethi has slept outside of an airport in Italy. Together, we traveled to 14 countries on 4 continents in the summer of 2009. We traversed southern Africa in March of 2011. We enjoyed a beautiful trip to New Zealand and Australia in April of 2012. We visited the Middle East and parts of Europe in the summer of 2014. We explored beautiful Iceland in January of 2016, where we caught the Northern Lights from a hot tub in the snow, saw wild orcas, and snorkeled between tectonic plates.

Teach, Learn, Share

If you want to learn, we're willing to teach any of the languages we speak, cooking, how to play the violin/piano, how to hang curtains, and how to say Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious backwards.

What I Can Share with Hosts

We'd love to chat, make you a meal, and share travel stories.

Countries I’ve Visited

Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Austria, Barbados, Belgium, Botswana, Brazil, Canada, Cayman Islands, China, Czech Republic, Dominica, France, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Iceland, India, Israel, Italy, Jamaica, Jordan, Mexico, Netherlands, Paraguay, Peru, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, South Africa, Spain, Thailand, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Countries I’ve Lived In

Brazil, France, United States

Old School Badges

  • 4 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Daniel and Preethi’s full profile.