Jan Fizel's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jan’s full profile.

Overview

  • 17 references 13 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Slovak; learning French, German, Italian, Persian (Farsi), Russian
  • 33, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Student :)
  • Still in the process
  • From Ruzina :), Slovakia
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Учиться, учиться и ещё раз учиться!

ABOUT ME

I am a Slovakian guy and I am currently working on my Phd in theoretical physics at Comenius University in Bratislava.
Beside much reading and studying, I always find some time to enjoy things like sport (mostly jogging and swimming), organizing some social events, cooking something nice, painting/drawing etc... :)
I am also quite fond of culture and all the things associated to it, I cannot miss any contemporary art gallery when there is one in a place where I travel :D, but I can appreciate also classical things like theater plays, interesting museum exhibitions or operas.

PHILOSOPHY

Since I have somehow occurred in this universe and I will have to live in it now, I reason, I would better learn something about it.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I have hosted quite a few couch surfers with my friend when I was living in Manchester, also I am trying to lure as many CSers as possible to see the beauties of my home village Ruzina. From time to time I also help some last minute CSers in Bratislava.
I myself am using CS always when I am traveling, it is really awesome way how to meet new people and learn about culture.

Interests

-Science itself (applying scientific method on everyday life :D)
-Theater
-Organizing some social events
-(New) Realization of new enterprising ideas

  • arts
  • culture
  • theater
  • contemporary art
  • cooking
  • reading
  • traveling
  • painting
  • drawing
  • sports
  • swimming
  • languages
  • physics
  • science

Music, Movies, and Books

One particular book which stands over all other is The Hitchikers guide to the Galaxy by Dougles Adams ;D. But otherwise I do not really have any special genre of books which I read. Currently I can read books in 5 languages, which I am really proud of ;)
And I cant forget to mention poetry, all poetry will do, but Vogon poetry is the pinnacle! :D
Music is the though one :). Mostly I enjoy classical music, but doing sports or other activity I listen rather rock or even some pop which is not too commercial. I also like folk and jazz, if it is not too much at once... :)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

42

Teach, Learn, Share

I can (sort of ;D) communicate in 5 languages and I am usually enthusiastic about practicing them, also give me a shout if you would want some help with any of the languages I know, I am always pleased to teach something.
If anyone is interested in some topics about physic, I will be fond to discuss them :). And by that I do not mean pulleys and optics, but some real strange phenomenas which unknown to us from everyday life (my Phd topic are models of universes with extra dimensions ;)

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, France, Ireland, Netherlands, Serbia, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Slovakia, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    2 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Jan’s full profile.

My Groups