Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 5 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jolene’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 9 References 3 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning Portuguese
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2005
  • English Teacher
  • New Colleg of Florida Alumna 2009
  • From Key West
  • Profile 60% complete

About Me


Exploring what my own country has to offer while road tripping out west


I am a hustler. I hustle shrimp creole and crawfish ettuffe to stupefied and sun burnt tourists and I love it. I'll make you the best sazerac, hurricane, or mint julep that you've ever tasted. I will tell you the history of gumbo traced all the way back to the first okra seed carried on a boat by a slave taken from Africa, but only if you ask.
I am a student of microculture: the slang, food ways or mores of small groups or cities fascinate me. Hence New Orleans being my adopted home. I've never met a city more distinct and set in her ways.
I love to cook but really I just love food. I cherish getting my CSA box on Tuesdays and being forced to cook weird alien shaped squashes and shuck my red beans straight from the pod for the first time.
I am always out for a good time. I believe in being good to people. "Be nice or leave".

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I bring the party


Idea collecting. The ocean. music&dancing! being active. community organizing and action. self-empowerment. swimming. meditating on compassion. excessive coffee consumption. consequently not sleeping when I should. saying hello to stragers on the street. old bikes. costumes. farmers markets. frozen bananas. cooking. bounce music.....

  • dancing
  • dining
  • cooking
  • wine
  • coffee
  • yoga
  • partying
  • boating
  • music
  • cycling
  • boxing
  • swimming
  • history

Music, Movies, and Books


Teach, Learn, Share

I am no connoisseur but I love trying new wines and learning about them. I know a decent amount about wine and would love to share some knowledge over a few glasses. I would love to share Creole/Southern cooking. I know basic bike maintenance. Lately I have been interested in learning yoga.

Countries I’ve Visited

Bolivia, France, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Netherlands, Peru, Poland, Spain, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Bolivia, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Jolene’s full profile. It’s free!