Rafael Cázares's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Rafael’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 14 References 8 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Spanish; learning Mongolian
  • 27, Male
  • Member since 2014
  • Helping people's life improve
  • Bachelor in Tourism and Hotel Management
  • From Torreón, Coahuila, Mexico
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

-IN A TRIP WITH MY MOTHER AS OF AUG 31ST until SEPT 27TH-

Meeting new people and creating good relations is my passion. I'm highly social yet go through interesting periods on introspection.
Currently doing a volunteer experience as a director for an NGO in South Africa. Been here since August 2016.

I lived in Ulaanbaatar as part of a personal challenge which I completed satisfactorily. Here, I did short term consultancy in management and taught English and Spanish as foreign languages, I also volunteered for AIESEC and different social causes around the city (orphanages, access to education, arts and culture, etc.)

I've met so many great people through this experience. I'm 27 years old and I'm hungry for life experiences.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

For the most part, people in this world are good and generous. Let's keep it rolling.

I know how amazing, yet tiring and demanding traveling can be. I am here because I like making people's life easier =)

Interests

Self development experiences:
Traveling, making friends, challenging myself, silent retreats, meditation, art, sports...

Experiencing new things. I'm game for almost anything that, doesn't involve cruelty, violence or abuse. (I've done dog sledding and some part of me felt guilty, but I loved it)

Conversations about anything, if I don't about the topic I will ask you A LOT of questions in order for me to learn and try to understand the most of what you're sharing. If I have some knowledge about the topic I will still ask you MORE questions and try to share my experiences if you're receptive to listen. I rather have a back and forward conversation, but sometimes only listening is enough.

FOOD. Eating as a pleasure is part of my essence as a person (also dramatic statements). I can eat crappy instant noodles, or gold embroiled food. However I rather eat "real" home made food, food that actually gets to most mouths in the country or place I visit.

Nerdy stuff. Whatever, you name it, I'm in.

Music, Movies, and Books

Music:
Bjork, Yann Tiersen, Lila Downs, Bombay Bicycle Club, Debussy, Satie, Ravel...

Movies:
Hedwig and the Angry Inch, Girl Interrupted, everything done by Studio Ghibli and Almodovar

Books
Demian-Herman Hesse
The Wheel of Time series
Among others
Bossy Pants

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

-Moving to Mongolia and creating an amazing experience for myself and those around me for almost 2 years.
-Got Expelled from Mongolia, and survived =)
-Traversing a forest, on a dog-sled, via a frozen river!
-Surviving to 2 Siberian winters while having the time of my life.
-10 days sesshin, medidating around 12 hours a day.
-1 month silent retreat in México.
-Lived 2 summers and 2 winters in 1 year!
-(coming soon) Eurotrip with my mother for a month

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach:
Cooking,
Spanish-English as foreign languages
Meditation

Learn;
Anything that makes me more compassionate, languages, traditions, protocol

Share:
Moments, time, experience, life

What I Can Share with Hosts

Life:
Want to hang out? Talk? Play sports, dance, videogames? I will most likely be in, and committed to it. I'll be glad to make our time together enjoyable. If you just want to talk, have a drink, go for a walk, that'd be great.

Food:
I like to cook, I'm not the best cook, but I'm good. I mainly cook Mexican food, but I'm not bad with Italian, and I can always learn how to cook new things.

Social skills:
You've been kind enough to share your space with me, if you ever introduce me to your friends I will not freak them out, I swear, nor make you look bad. If you share with me about expectations in social interactions in your country, I can do it 10 times better. I'm pretty flexible and adaptable, if you share some details with me, it'd be as if I was one more person there.

Countries I’ve Visited

Italy, Japan, Saudi Arabia, South Korea, United Arab Emirates, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Mexico, Mongolia, South Africa

Join Couchsurfing to see Rafael’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups