Hanny Castro's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 67% response rate
  • Last login about 1 hour ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Hanny’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 30 References 17 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Catalan, Valencian, English, Spanish; learning Czech, Portuguese
  • 27, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Outdoor educator
  • Sociocultural animation
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I've been living in a good amount of cities due to work, schooling, or stubbornness... I kinda like it.

I'm interested in neuroscience since I have memory, which lately has linked up with physics, computing and artificial intelligence kinda things. Can't help but feel like things are changing a wee bit too fast lately.
Sometimes a random article about a new paper published leads to hours of conversation on what could be a good sci-fi book if I writer was there!

I live with my boyfriend, Laurie, and we are both working as surf/ outdoor instructors this season.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I think it would be rather surprising for someone like me not to be on Couchsurfing! Is just the proof that if we organize ourselves, we all get our needs covered!
I love hosting when I can, in Brno, Bulgaria and Rumania (and now in Newquay!), and got hosted many times, meeting incredible people on the way...
Not having a permanent residence, being able to couchsurf a couple of nights when plans don't really fit calendar wise, really makes life easier!!
I sometimes work online, and can afford hostels, but I find that I don't have much in common with other guest... just stressed people ticking items of a bucket list or counting countries. Then, while hosteling there is no human way to escape the tourist traps!

Interests

I used to spend most of my free time going to walk on the mountains close to my city, concerts (on all kind of music), crochet (not only blankets XD i make little amigurumis), doing circus stuff when I can, climbing, making some noise with the ukelele, and well... most of the things that happen around me end catching my attention.
But now I surf and just do all the other stuff when I'm not able to surf!

I love cooking, but doing it only for myself is boring =(

  • books
  • crochet
  • surfing
  • neuroscience
  • nature
  • outdoors
  • new technologies

Music, Movies, and Books

Every week there is a new song, book, poem, movie, picture... that can inspire me. That's why I don't think making a list right now would be representative of myself in half a month... but surely, if we start to chat, some of them will come out =D

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Breaking my hand in a foreign country, going to a festival by hitchhiking 600km in a different one, come back for surgery to then go straight into for 4 days of hiking in Tatry mountains right after leaving the hospital.

Teach, Learn, Share

I also do something kind of unusual, little toys with crochet called amigurumis. It takes some time to learn the basics but is really useful when you don't know what to give as a present! =D
I don't have a spare board, but can give you some tips to start surfing.

I'm a storyteller in process. But sometimes it works and people travel with stories. There are quite a lot.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can teach you how to juggle, and make some crochet juggling balls for you. Maybe I can try to cook something, give good conversation, or propose some crazy activity to fill a lazy day with =D

I can cook some czech food too =D

Countries I’ve Visited

Andorra, Austria, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Kenya, Latvia, Macedonia, Morocco, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Spain, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Iceland, Ireland, Kenya, Romania, Spain, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Hanny’s full profile. It’s free!