Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 20% response rate
  • Last login about 1 hour ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Jiva-Maya Jamie’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 21 References 10 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Croatian, German, Sanskrit (Saṁskṛta)
  • 25, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • Bhakti yoga
  • Ongoing
  • From England, United Kingdom
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

*
I divided time growing up between California and England, and after traveling for 4 years and now being settled in Wales, I've learned that home really is where the heart is and the most important thing in life is relationships with like-souled people.
*
I lived in Fiji for 6 months when I left school educating about HIV/AIDs and working with a disadvantaged youth group. Then I gypsied the East Coast and Central Australia for a year, camping, hitchhiking and following the work but more so the festivals.

*
I traveled in New Zealand and lived in an ashram there, where I got more deeply involved in yoga practise and "Bhakti" philosophy. Bhakti means love and devotion, and I am committed to the goal of doing everything in my life with this consciousness.
*
I am soon to be married to a lovely Croatian man, so love spending time there with the other half of our family/friends and trying to learn the language. Indra is the perfect shy, deep, creative counter to my bubbly, sociable nature!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I've met some beautiful people; the experience is ongoing, just knowing that you're part of this amazing family of souls and any place you go you'll find a friend.

Interests

I live in Cardiff where I manage a yoga café. Much of my life is invested in the mission of spreading this knowledge and love to others, so I love teaching yoga, meditation, dance and spending time with other spiritually-minded people. I am vegan and into healthy lifestyle and natural therapies.

*SURFERS* I would request that if you would like to stay up late, drink, smoke, etc. then staying with me isn't the best option for you. I respect everyone's free choice but it isn't congruent with my lifestyle and I ask that you respect my choices for my space. Thank you :)

  • festivals
  • dancing
  • cooking
  • vegan
  • yoga
  • meditation
  • drinking
  • traveling
  • hiking
  • camping
  • sports
  • hitchhiking

Music, Movies, and Books

Kirtan, a style of music meditation, is my life and I often listen to, participate in and leadsing kirtan. I play harmonium and sing, and a bit of ukulele. Indra is a DJ so we always have a variety of music in our home!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Climbed 10km up a mountain... barefoot... in the dark!

What I Can Share with Hosts

I'm not traveling and probably won't for a long time, but as for sharing with surfers who stay with me: I am always keen for a yoga/dance/hike session, and I am a willing partner in sports or other adventures! I will happily share vegan cooking and other "unusual" consumables like komboocha and kefir, which I brew at home :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Belgium, Croatia, Fiji, France, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands, New Zealand, Portugal, United Kingdom, United States, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Fiji, New Zealand, United Kingdom, United States, Wales

Join Couchsurfing to see Jiva-Maya Jamie’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups