Rachel Jessica's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 75% response rate
  • Last login 16 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Rachel’s full profile.

Overview

  • 81 references 58 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning French, Italian, Portuguese
  • 38, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • Languages Teacher
  • life, travels (and a languages degree from Manchester)
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To embrace life's imperfections, wabi-sabi style.

To 'throw kindness around like confetti'.

To be the best possible mama and role model to my two beautiful children :)

ABOUT ME

Currently back home living in Yorkshire and can host from the beginning of May onwards while we are here. Possible single bed available or if not a sofa bed in the living room.

I'm a young, free-spirited traveller, itching to go out and see more of the world...at the moment though I am focused on being a mum to my two boys (7 and 6 months).

As for myself, I'm not sure how to describe myself inside a little box...so it's probably better to meet me and find out, but travelling and exploring are a big part of my life. The plan was to slow down now with kids, but I've realised, I'm still addicted so I'm learning about the concept of worldschooling and slowly taking little trips around to different places to try and teach them things through travel.

PHILOSOPHY

take each day as it comes, enjoy the little things in life and don't take life too seriously!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I have surfed, hosted, travelled with, gone out with, bumped into, and partied with other fellow couchsurfers from all over the world. I've stayed with and hosted the same people too (I love this 'couchsurfing exchange') and I also host people through a similar platform called 'Warmshowers' which I use for staying with and hosting travelling cyclists!

I've always thought couchsurfing was a great idea, but now as a single parent who loves to travel, I love it even more. It's opened up possibilities for us to travel and stay with other people/families and give Luca such a wonderful insight into how other people live in different countries. He even went to a German kind of preschool with one of our hosts!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Ever since I discovered couchsurfing a few years ago, I've never looked back.

I've used it for surfing, hosting, meeting new friends while living abroad and language exchanges.

While living in Ecuador I met some of the people who I now count as my closest friends through CS, and who I never would have known otherwise.

Interests

buena musica, dancing salsa and bachata, capoeira, teaching, learning, hitch-hiking, films that make me think, books that I want to read until I fall asleep, cycling down hills, and recently cycling up hills too, doing things that scare me, learning new languages, wwoofing, skies full or stars, tropical beaches, tropical thunderstorms, attempting to cook deliciousness, positive attitudes...and obviously TRAVELLING!

Music, Movies, and Books

films: Amelie, The Science of Sleep, The Edukators, Life is Beautiful, Garden State, The Lives of Others, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind
books: Veronica decides to die, The Shadow of the Wind, The Book Thief, Shantaram, Time Traveller's Wife,
music: most things...Florence and the Machine, Jessie Ware, The Cat Empire, Manu Chao, Thievery Corporation, Cinematic Orchestra, Yann Tiersen, Air, Bonobo, Calle 13, Arcade Fire, most things which I couldn't write myself, and nothing which I could!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I've flown a plane over the Andes, hitchhiked from Manchester to Morocco, been to carnaval in Brazil, eaten shark in Iceland, and raising two kids as a solo mama...but I have more stories...meet me and find out!

Teach, Learn, Share

I am happy to pass on my language skills, or some basic salsa moves! And I can share my simple yet delicious banana bread recipe with you...just ask. And of course I can help you with your English if you need it.

Would still love to learn the ukelele...I try when I have time!

What I Can Share with Hosts

Friendly company and an open mind, tour around the local village, cosy home and home-cooked meals sometimes.

Countries I’ve Visited

Andorra, Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Cambodia, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, El Salvador, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Greece, Hungary, India, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Mexico, Montenegro, Morocco, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Norway, Panama, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Thailand, Uruguay, Venezuela, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, France, Italy, Nicaragua, Romania, Spain, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • 7 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Rachel’s full profile.

My Groups