Remi Leist's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • 66% response rate
  • Last login about 1 month ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Remi’s full profile.

Overview

  • 27 references 23 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish; learning Turkish
  • 25, Male
  • Member since 2016
  • Studying Philosophy, Political Sciences and Economics
  • German Abitur
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hi, Ciao, Oi, Hola, Bonjour und Hallo! 👋

My Name is Remi and I was born and raised in Constance, a small town in the very south of Germany along the Swiss border. As beautiful as it is, and Constance really is, I've always felt the urge to leave and to discover something else. Consequently, as soon as I had finished high school and worked for a little while, nothing could hold me back anymore and I left for South America. Initially I planned to spend only a few months in Latin America and eventually move on to another place of the world, but latino amarica es una obra de arte y nunca terminarás de estudiarla. In short, I found a second home in this beautiful continent with its fascinating people and ended up staying for two years. This trip gave me so much, I will not even try to put it into words for this short CS introduction.

All good things come to an end, so I decided to start writing another chapter of my life. However I did not really want to come back to Germany, so I decided to find a middle ground between the known and the new: South Tyrol in Italy, where wine meets beers and 'Ciao' is a reply to 'Hallo' and 'Servus'. Okay, in reality the cultural differences and identity politics might not be as poetic as I just put it, but quite honestly the mixture is pretty dope and once we all acknowledge that humans are just humans also the local population will start appreciating. Anyways, here I am now, since 2018, and it's safe to say that I found a third home. Without doubt the region is one of the most beautiful in the world, I found great friends and my studies are very enlightening. At the University I attend the bachelors program for Philosophy, Political Sciences and Economics and I am very passionate about most (not all) of the lectures. It tackles the main foundations our society has been built upon and might help me finding a way to do my share for the improvement of equity, justice and solidarity, so that we can all, all over the world, fulfil ourselves as human beings.

In case you are currently in the train or bus, not knowing what to do and you happen to know German:
Here is my blog I started writing when in South America for the first months https://remigrant.com/

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

The colourful cocktail of knowledge one acquires throughout his travels is one of the most valuable types of knowledge there is. Therefore I believe that everybody should be able to get around and experience something new, independently of his or her budget. Furthermore, and I guess I don't have to tell you, meeting locals and actually staying at their places, has an even richer quality of experiences, than just travelling in the sense of moving from point A to B. All this is Couchsurfing and i fully support these principles.

When people reach out to me, it's always nice if people show particular interest in my personality, however I also fully understand the way things usually go. One is in search for a place to stay and reaches out to a couple of hosts, hoping for a positive reply. This is fine, show interest whenever you are really interested and if you are not, I'm good with it too. I'm here to help you, not to get anything in return.

Don't think I won't show any interst in you, though. I am a curious person and will still want to build a connection to whoever is staying at our place! ;)

Interests

Obviously, I like travelling 🌍, but particularly by hitchhiking 👍🏼 and I deeply encourage everyone to try it out. Also, Italy is very safe for hitchhiking and in case you are looking for any advice I'd be happy to help out. Cooking 👨🏼‍🍳, is another thing I like, and consequently I'm a big fan of eating 🍝 good food. Music 🎼 has become a big part of my life. I play the piano 🎹, the ukulele and guitar 🎸 and recently got into producing🎛️, too. Bring and instrument, or grab one of mine if you're into jam sessions! The beauty of nature 🏞️ is one of the most fascinating things of this world, so I go to the mountains a lot. In summer we go hiking ⛰️, in winter we ski 🏔️, but I also enjoy beaches 🏝️ and rocky cliffs 🗻. Let's not forget, the most important hobbies are probably laughing 😉, talking 🗣️ and thinking 💭. Everything else are just add-on's.

If you come here to go to the mountains, there is a high probability I will join you. Otherwise be prepared for some talks at home!

I also like taking photos 📸. If you want to have a quick look into my perspective and read through some stories and small 'articles' in the comment section, here is my Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/remi_liced/ Please be aware that I use it for sharing of photos only and not as a messaging service.

  • freedom
  • solidarity
  • morality
  • one world

Music, Movies, and Books

I recently got back into reading a lot and a good book recommendation is one of the greatest gifts one can make.

Here is one from me: Shantaram from Gregory Roberts

As for audio visuals, I am more into documentary films than movies, but there are some great one's for sure. I'm a big fan of Christopher Nolan, Wes Anderson and Guy Ritchie' movies.

And Music? Oooh music...
There's so much beautiful music in this world. Here is a playlist with some of my favourite songs I made for some couchsurfers once: https://open.spotify.com/playlist/4FnEG6CnWsWViM1zVlnFa4?si=54fUR84ZR72TTF8ONgll5g

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I've hiked an active Volcano in Tanzania at night and almost died.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm always happy to share whatever I know and have. I learned quite some languages already and am always ready to share the fine subtleties and funny oddities of the language I speak (and am constantly learning, it really never stops).
Also I'm quite versatile, when it comes to historic facts and political developments of today. In case I find the time I'll show you around the city as your personal tour guide :)

I go for a run once in a while, let me know if you're into that. The same holds true for music and jam sessions.

Other than that, I'm a very curious person, eager to learn about everything there is!

What I Can Share with Hosts

When staying at someone's place I like to offer a typical dinner, from one of the cultural backgrounds I have: My mother is french, my father is German and I used to live in South America and Italy. I'm sure we'll find something suitable :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Chile, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Kosovo, Liechtenstein, Mexico, Montenegro, Netherlands, Paraguay, Peru, Russian Federation, Serbia, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, Tanzania, Turkey, United Kingdom, Uruguay, Vatican City State, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Chile, Germany, Italy, Turkey

Join Couchsurfing to see Remi’s full profile.