Rémi Labarrière's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • 76% response rate
  • Last login about 11 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Rémi’s full profile.

Overview

  • 233 references 180 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Spanish; learning German, Japanese
  • 38, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Was a french teacher for special needs teenagers
  • not enough...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

COPY PASTE YOUR REQUEST = 0 CHANCE TO BE HOSTED.
Thanks to consider the fact that you re asking someone you don’t know yet to come in his home...

After years of teaching (That I really liked) I decided to leave everything behind and go explore the world by myself. My mission was : REACHING INDIA by HITCHHIKE and stay in Asia !
Unfortunately life had other plans for me and I ended to be 5 months in an hospital and 6 month rehab after an accident in Greece. Surprisingly I realized I wouldn't change a minute of this experience if I could. Now I m back on the road for a new chapter of what I consider a bonus life :)

ABOUT ME

There is no time I am happier than ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD MY BACKPACK ON MY SHOULDERS AND A CARDBOARD SIGN IN MY HANDS !
I m vegan, buddhist and happy dude. Some years ago, I realized that happiness is not something that exist outside of me, but something I create just by my way of looking at the world. Happiness like peace come from within.

After years of self exploration I found out that my balance goes from spending days in festivals on some drugs to stay in deep vipassana retreats where I spend 120h meditation in silence within 11 days. I m a guy of extremes, find my balance like that and let my energy drive my actions.

I was raised and I believed that I needed things to be happy. I get a house, a car, a mobile phone, a boyfriend, a girlfriend, a cat, a washing machine... and I get rid of all of this. Now my life is contained in 10 cardboard boxes, a bike and a rice cooker and I never felt more content.

I constantly meet precious human being who I consider as brother and taking care of each other take most of my time and energy.

I do regret that I can find less and less travelers here and more teens who care just about having a cheap week-end and good tips. If you don't consider like one of those sign your request with "hit the road" and I will know you pay enough attention at the profile of your potential host and are a true CS.

PHILOSOPHY

I m a believer ! I believe in :
. Kindness
. Ice cream
. In friendship, brotherhood
. In the power of a smile
. Hugs (always ready)
. I BELIEVE IN JAMIE OLIVER (I wish he were vegan)
. In deep, honest and open minded conversations
. In HUMANITY

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Couchsurfing changed my life ! I m passionate about it... I discoverded so many places and so many fantastic persons who fill my heart with positiv vibs for a very long time !

Interests

I LOVE cooking (italian, indian, Koréan, japanese, french... I could spend hours in a Kitchen !)
I like eating (backpacker and "bageater" )
I love french wine (because this is what I test since i m 7) But I also like to disover any king of drink as soon as I see the heart of the producer in it !
I like the French, Japanese, Indian or English literature...
I like when you tell me what count on your time on earth
I like urban life ( Bordeaux, here are my roots...)
I try hard not to get attached to things and people. Nothing belong to anyone and I respect freedom more than anything.

  • cats
  • literature
  • beauty
  • cooking
  • wine
  • vegan
  • drinking
  • gardening
  • traveling
  • cycling
  • backpacking

Music, Movies, and Books

Books : buddhist books that help me to put my thoughts in order, Bernard Werber, Harry Potter, H. Murakami, N. Hornby, Divakaruni, K Lefevre... The monk and the philosopher, Tuesdays with Morrie, the Power of now...

Music : classic (Ravel, Chopin, Debussy), pop : ( Beatles, L. Lemay, Juliette, Angus and Julia Stone) Rock (Dionysos, Oasis), electro (Bjork, electro swing, Christal Castels, psy/trans...) Reggae, Hip hop electro. Anything !

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

spend 1 month LYING IN A BED in the hospital without beeing able to move any part of my body and learn again to drink, eat, seat, shit, stand, move in a wheelchair, walk, ride my bike again... have a second life !

A night in the SAHARA DESERT. I was not able to sleep several hours because of the amazing beauty of the stars. There was not limit anymore between me and the universe.

La SAGRADA FAMILIA !

I stayed one hour contemplating stones and water all alone in a Zen garden in KYOTO...

Being ROBBED 3 times in a week and an half in Peru and learn from that what really count
GET RID OF my old mistakes and start to trust me and travel the world again and again and again

Teach, Learn, Share

I worked in an asso that recycle bikes from trash to give them new life. I like to offer bikes to my friends or help people to fix theirs.
I also dumpster dive in organic shop to cook vegan stuff I ll offer to others and share about that way of living.

What I Can Share with Hosts

A very concerned host.
Someone you could talk anything with and who will look at you meanwhile.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Andorra, Argentina, Armenia, Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Canada, Chile, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Guadeloupe, Hungary, India, Iran, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Latvia, Martinique, Montenegro, Morocco, Nepal, Netherlands, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Scotland, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

France

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    10 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Rémi’s full profile.