Remy den Hartog's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 12% response rate
  • Last login 19 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Remy’s full profile.

Overview

  • 6 references 5 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English; learning French, German
  • 23, Male
  • Member since 2017
  • Bachelor Philosophy at Utrecht University
  • VWO diploma (preuniversity secondary education)
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

*** BEFORE YOU SEND ME A REQUEST, PLEASE READ MY PROFILE AND THE 'MY HOME'-SECTION WELL! I spend too much energy on people sending copy-paste messages, which should be unnecessary. I'll simply decline if I see you didn't read my profile well. Nothing personal! :3 ***

My name is Remy den Hartog. I was born and raised in the Netherlands, in a small village near Amsterdam. I live on an organic farm with my parents and brothers and sister. Even though I'm not interested in continuing the family business myself (my relatives are more likely to do so), I've had the pleasure of growing up in one of the most beautiful places in the area of Amsterdam. So far I spent most of my life acting in amateur theatre plays, playing piano, and having good times with friends. I'm studying philosophy on the University of Utrecht.

I'm eager to find new surroundings to challenge myself in becoming more life-experienced. Broadening my world view via conversation and exploration is, I found, very meaningful and empowering. It always surprises me how people with other (cultural) backgrounds can change my own point of view. What have you got to offer to this young mind?

I'm not the most eccentric person you'll meet, but I'm interested in others, respectful, open-minded, and often in for spontaneous adventures! Whether it'd be going out, discovering the area, or having a good coversation over a cup of tea, I'm into it!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I've not often travelled far without family members, but, over the years I'm definitly planning to do more so. Couchsurfing is an excellent way of meeting up with local people. I've had some beautiful encounters with people through this platform, who taught me a lot about very different things; made me a better person somehow. Moreover, locals tend to know the more hidden gems located in their living area, which is way more interesting than visiting the popular attractions.

Interests

  • acting
  • meditation
  • reading
  • traveling
  • cycling
  • laughing
  • gaming
  • theatre
  • buddhism
  • chilling
  • comedy
  • meeting new people
  • taoism
  • listening to music
  • playing piano
  • philosphy
  • music history
  • watching series
  • zen buddhism
  • eastern philosophy
  • daoism
  • talking about music

Music, Movies, and Books

A selection of my favourite bands/musicians: Pink Floyd, the Beatles, the Band, the Beach Boys, Bob Dylan, the Doors, the Allman Brothers Band, Radiohead, the Who, the Jimi Hendrix Experience, Jerry Lee Lewis, Elvis Presley, Chuck Berry, Little Richard, the Miracles, Robert Johnson and Ray Charles. My musical interest is really wide. From 20s jazz to 70s funk, from 90s alternative to 40s country, it's a big list. I'm fond of some current genres as well, such as Drum and Bass.

I don't really watch a lot of films/series, but here are some of my favourites: 'The Lord of the Rings' trilogy, 'It's Such a Beautiful Day', 'Avatar: The Last Airbender', 'Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood', 'Cowboy Bebop', 'Hair', 'The Pick of Destiny', 'Game of Thrones', 'Adventure Time', 'Jesus Christ Superstar', 'Pulp Fiction'.

My favoutite books are: 'The Lord of the Rings' trilogy, 'The Silmarillion', 'De Kleine Johannes' (Dutch), 'Titaantjes' (Dutch), 'The Hobbit'.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

It really isn't that amazing, but I went on a short roadtrip of 5 days with my best friend through Belgium and Germany. It wasn't life-changing or exotic, but we had our fun little adventures (being stuck in our car in a barren, creepy forrest at night; riding through the beautiful ardennes; having great conversations, etc.)

Teach, Learn, Share

-I know my share of history;
-I can tell loads of stories about many songs/albums/artists primarily from the 50s, 60s and 70s, including a bit of the musical theory and context behind them;
-I've got a general knowledge of both western and eastern philosophy;
-I can teach a bit of piano;
-There's probably no one who would like to learn Dutch, but I can at least teach some words that, if you're planning on travelling to the Netherlands, will help you find the more open-hearted and friendly Dutch people out there. :)

What I Can Share with Hosts

I'm not the world's greatest cook. But, as my grandmother always says, "If you can read, you can cook." So, if you expect me to prepare a meal, expect a simple one. I'll promise to do the best I can!
Also, in return for a stay and maybe even personal tours through the area, I'd gladly take you out for lunch or the like!

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Denmark, France, Gambia, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Portugal, Sweden, Turkey

Join Couchsurfing to see Remy’s full profile.