Logo orange

Rafael Nussbaum

Santa Cruz, CA, United States

Maybe Accepting Guests

25% response rate · Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Rafael's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 238 Positive References5 Neutral
  • Fluent in English, Swiss German; learning French, German
  • 38, Male
  • Member since 2007
  • smiling, laughing, having a great ti...
  • Diploma in Chemistry, tons of others
  • From Luzern, Luzern, Switzerland
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

living and spreading the good vibes, and for sure being the a-bit-crazy myself

ABOUT ME

I like sports, especially diving (it's addictive!!), hiking, walks, yoga, swimming, skiing, climbing,...
The thing I really love above all is my diabolo(s). always good fun to let them swirl around and astonish people.
Also music I enjoy, to party I prefer non-commercial music "with drive", as Jungle DnB and Goa, but also Electro or others will do it.
Celtic knotwork is really intriguing me. i learned how to construct and draw them.
Also just being with some good people, having a glass of Beer and talking, barbequing, playing a game (favorites: Siedler, Roborally, Munchking, and many more).
I'm more and more as well into living simple, doing things myself, with my own hands, shaping a future and the space around me.
So in 3 words, having fun :-D.
I'm also a very optimistic an idealistic person, I believe that we can make a change, and that it will be done.

PHILOSOPHY

I think, there are so many open-minded people here, we will eventually be able to make a change, sand grain by sand grain.
This earth should become a friendly place, also for the next generations to enjoy. Let's begin today by passing on warmth and "power" to the one next to us.
This planet is just a product of our feelings and desires, so it's never too late to make a change.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Everybody cool I encounter I tell about this site. A lot of people really will register. :-)

Used to do more, now more have to live my live.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I already had couch surfing experiences before I joined this site:
We've been 3 weeks in Scotland, biking. There for instance I meet a lot of heartily people, inviting me for lunch and a bed, just since we were quite soaked.
Everytime I just enjoy it.
Since then, lemme think... hosted dozens of CSers, surfed a few places on my own, few meetings... visits of good CS friends

Create your own visitor map!

Interests

As I said, almost too much to list here.
DIABOLO!!!
sports: diving, swimming, yoga, climbing, jogging, skiing, hiking, being in the nature, dog sports, martial arts, consciousnes..
how I work,
People
Music
Party,
reading books
having a good time

Music, Movies & Books

Music: all kind of (honestly: much).
For parting I enjoy wild music, with a drive, which makes you move. Jungle, DrumnBass and Goa are sure among my favorites.
Movies: I enjoyed Amelie, Les choristes (Enfants de M. Matthieu, Fight club, but also many others.
Books: ok, there will be no end, I quite enjoy reading. My favourite Author is Christopher Brookmyre. Further on also Cryptonomicon and the Baroque cycle from Neal Stephenson are just exceptional. Also the books of Robin Hobb and for sure by J.R. Tolkien are among my favorites (These are the books I read at least 4 times each).
Further on there is just too much to be listed here. But generally I enjoy (good!!) fantasy books, crime fiction, the science of living tons of other interesting stuff.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

all the earth is just one amazing place, open the eyes and allow yourself to see it.

Teach, Learn, Share

being yourself,
living here and now,
philosophy (freestyle),
science, especially chemistry, quantum mechanics and keltic knotwork,
diabolo (fire diabolo),
pogo,
DnB pogo :-D
being the master of disaster,
the creativity of symmetry vs. chaos

IF and only IF you're willing to go the way for yourself, how to deal with problems in the relationship between you and ...
your mind
your spirit
your body
the outer world
nutrition
sport
meditation
stress
sexuality
other human beings
feelings/emotions
blockades
...

Countries I've Visited

Austria, Belgium, Canada, Czech Republic, Egypt, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Spain, Tunisia, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I've Lived In

Switzerland, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Rafael's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile