Logo orange

Rachel Smith

Elmhurst, IL, United States

Not Accepting Guests

Last login 11 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Rachel's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile

Overview

  • 35 Positive References
  • Fluent in English; learning Italian, Spanish
  • 28, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • Creative person
  • University
  • From Elmhurst, IL, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Learn how to be amazing, even when the economy sucks.

ABOUT ME

Recently got back from spending a year at the University of Leicester, UK to get my MA in Museum Studies. I'm currently back home in the suburbs of Chicago, IL, USA. I also graduated in 2009 with my Bachelors in Art History and International Arts. My love of travel began when I studied abroad in Italy for a semester, and there are many more places I hope to go.
I'm a rather reserved, quiet person, a christian, and also adventurous.

PHILOSOPHY

Learn something new everyday.

Why I'm on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I host, along with my parents, and very occasionally surf. I was previously a CS volunteer with the Communications Team, writing for the World Wide Events Channel. I've spent time with the Leicester, UK, and the Chicago and Champaign IL communities since I joined in 2008.

An article from the local paper called 'Surfing at the Smiths'!:
http://rjsmith2.wordpress.com/2009/12/10/surfing-at-the-smiths/

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I first heard about CS through a friend in a language tandem. He excitedly relayed his experience of staying with couchsurfers in Poland for the weekend. I wrote it down to look into later. The experience that catapulted me into the CS community was a Chicago museum day with travelers and other locals like me. A picnic on the beach was interrupted by a sudden violent storm, and we took refuge in a local dive bar a few blocks away, to wait out the storm. What a fun night! That led me to becoming more involved in Champaign, and finally to volunteering for CS.

Interests

Writing, reading, painting, art history, travel, languages, cooking. Also, dance, circus and acting, yoga. I like coffee shops, libraries, art museums, pubs, and dance clubs, not necessarily in that order. :)

Music, Movies & Books

I read a lot and my favorite books are always changing. My preferred topics are art, museums and travel, and sometimes I wander over into fiction too.
I like almost any kind of music, including jazz, soul, hip hop and world music. I mean anything! In my car, the radio station is either tuned to Classical, Top 40, or the Spanish station.

One Amazing Thing I've Done

One amazing thing I have seen is the sunset over the Alps in Torino, Italy, a gorgeous sight to behold. One amazing thing I have done is go scuba diving on the island of Mykonos, Greece, a completely new experience for me.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach any of the languages I know, and I'm good at painting and drawing, and anything art-related. I'm a decent cook, and always like to try new things. I know circus arts and have taught couchsurfers a trick or two before! I would like to learn more about travel writing and juggling and anything else that interests me.

Countries I've Visited

El Salvador, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Netherlands, Spain, United Kingdom

Countries I've Lived In

Italy, United Kingdom, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Rachel's full profile. It's free!

View Full Profile