Rachel Smith's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Rachel’s full profile.


  • 35 references 17 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning German, Italian
  • 35, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • Museums
  • University
  • From Elmhurst, IL, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Learn how to be content.


Living in the suburbs of Chicago, and working downtown at the art museum. I enjoy working in museums, and exploring Chicago in my free time. In 2012 I spent a year at the University of Leicester, UK to get my Masters in Museum Studies. Before that, I graduated in 2009 with my Bachelors in Art History and International Arts. My love of travel began when I studied abroad in Italy for a semester, and there are many more places I hope to go. I'm a rather reserved, quiet person, a christian, and also adventurous. When I travel, I visit museums, historic sites, cafes, sometimes do outdoorsy stuff, and like good food and beer.


Learn something new everyday.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


I have hosted a lot in the past with my parents, and I very occasionally surf. I was previously a CS volunteer with the Communications Team, writing for the World Wide Events Channel. I've spent time with the Leicester, UK, and the Chicago and Champaign IL communities since I joined in 2008.

An article from the local paper called 'Surfing at the Smiths'!:


I first heard about CS through a friend in a language tandem. He excitedly relayed his experience of staying with couchsurfers in Poland for the weekend. I wrote it down to look into later. The experience that catapulted me into the CS community was a Chicago museum day with travelers and other locals like myself. A picnic on the beach was interrupted by a sudden violent storm, and we took refuge in a local dive bar a few blocks away, to wait out the storm. What a fun night! That led me to becoming more involved in Champaign, and finally to volunteering for CS.


Writing, reading, art, history, travel, languages, cooking. Also, dance, and circus. I like coffee shops, museums, anything cultural, pubs, and anything outside or with live music.

  • arts
  • writing
  • photography
  • dancing
  • dining
  • cooking
  • beer
  • coffee
  • picnic
  • pub crawls
  • reading
  • traveling
  • painting
  • drawing
  • music
  • live music
  • surfing
  • scuba diving
  • art history
  • communications
  • history
  • languages
  • volunteering
  • historic sites
  • beaches

Music, Movies, and Books

I read a lot and my favorite books are always changing. My preferred topics are art, history and travel, and sometimes I wander over into fiction too. I'm trying to read more "classics", and have recently read The Picture of Dorian Gray, Anna Karenina, and The Sun Also Rises. The Count of Monte Cristo is probably next...
I like almost any kind of music, including jazz, electronic and world music. I have been listening to Brazilian music lately, and some country and bluegrass. I like to watch foreign films (surprise) and got really into Bollywood while I was living in England.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

One amazing thing I have seen is the sunset over the Alps in Torino, Italy, a gorgeous sight to behold. One amazing thing I have done is go scuba diving on the island of Mykonos, Greece, a completely new experience for me.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach any of the languages I know, and I'm good at painting and drawing, and things art-related. I'm a decent cook, and always like to try new things. I know circus arts and have taught couchsurfers a trick or two before! I always like to learn more about photography and find new music.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, El Salvador, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Spain, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Italy, United Kingdom, United States

Old School Badges

  • 5 Vouches
  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Rachel’s full profile.

My Groups