Rob Watt's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Rob’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in Afrikaans, English, Xhosa; learning Estonian, German
  • 34, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • Web/Mobile Developer & Digital Marketer
  • University of Stellenbosch
  • From Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
  • Profile 75% complete

About Me

Hi! My name is Rob. I love traveling; in fact you could say that the travel-bug bit me hard and didn't let me go! In 2014, I embarked on a 6 week trip to the USA and UK, which turned out to be 1 & 1/4 years, and I ending up spending time in the Bahamas, Indonesia, Cambodia, Malaysia and Thailand as well! Since then, I've visited the USA six times.

I run a creative agency, called Cloudbreak Digital. I am currently looking at opportunities to travel while working remotely and stay in Europe for 3-6 months this year. My plan is to Couchsurf initially, meet some cool people and find out the best local spots to hangout, learn about cultures and history, co-work etc. and then find my own accommodation for the rest of the stay.

I enjoy being in busy cities, picking up on the energy of being surrounded by people on the move, making their dreams happens, and also in the middle of nature, surrounded by mountains, or in the sea, surfing and contemplating life and planning what lies ahead.

I'm a pretty easy-going and respectful guy, who likes to make new friends, experience new cultures, their food and drinks. I enjoy going to clubs,pubs, watching live music, surfing and also hiking. I play guitar, so if you're a musician, we can definitely jam together.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I'm on Couchsurfing because I want to meet interesting and fun local people, and experience new cities in the way that the locals do. Likewise, when I'm back home in Cape Town, South Africa - I'd love to be able to do that for other people. I also being in the principle of sowing seeds and paying things forward.

Interests

  • wine tasting
  • motorcycles
  • technology
  • movies
  • reading
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • music
  • live music
  • guitar
  • hiking
  • surfing
  • golf
  • history
  • sightseeing
  • tv series
  • friends
  • bars
  • good food
  • craft beer
  • learning new languages
  • netflix
  • good conversation
  • restaurants
  • web development
  • digital nomad
  • digital marketing
  • mobile app development

Music, Movies, and Books

* This is not a complete list, there's many more from different genres I should add, but I'd rather tell you all about that when we meet *

MUSIC
- Muse
- Third Eye Blind
- Alter Bridge
- Hillsong United
- Oasis
- Blur
- The Kooks
- Kaiser Chiefs
- Razorlight
- Metric
- Foo Fighters
- Kings Of Leon
- Coldplay
- The Libertines
- The Naked & Famous
- One Republic
- Passion Pit
- Radiohead
- Lamb Of God

BOOKS
- The 4 Hour Work Week by Timothy Ferriss
- The Jason Bourne Series - by Robert Ludlum
- James Bond series by Ian Fleming
- Sean Dillon series by Jack Higgins
- Angels & Demons by Dan Brown
- Harry Potter
- Lord Of The Rings
- Galactic Empire Wars by Raymond l. Wel
- Atlas series by Isaac Hooke

FILMS & SERIES
- Limitless
- The Vow
- The IT Crowd
- James Bond
- Jason Bourne
- The Iron Fist
- Jessica Jones
- Underworld
- Star Wars
- Love Actually
- Daredevil
- Game Of Thrones
- The Blacklist
- House Of Cards
- Archer
- Breaking Bad
- Family Guy
- The Simpsons
- Sons Of Anarchy
- Suits
- Dexter
- White Collar
- Fringe
- The OC

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

In 2015, I spent two months in the Sumatran jungle (Indonesia) in a remote village called Tanjung Setia. I surfed twice a day, meeting people from all over the world, and I even managed to launch a startup with some people I met there! The roads were bad, but somehow the internet was fast!

Teach, Learn, Share

TEACH
I can teach English, guitar, web/mobile development, digital marketing, social media marketing and how to be a digital nomad.

LEARN
I'm learning German and Estonian, which I'm really enjoying! I'd also like to learn more about food, wine, history of the people and places I'm visiting.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I'd like to share:
- Stories about my travels; the people I've met, places I've been, funny or not so funny things which have happened along the way.
- Some nights out and about in town at restaurants and bars with good food and drinks.
- Conversation about the history of South Africa and what it is like now.
- Sightseeing.

Countries I’ve Visited

Bahamas, Cambodia, England, Indonesia, Ireland, Japan, Malaysia, South Africa, Switzerland, Thailand, United Kingdom, United States, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Japan, South Africa, United Kingdom

Join Couchsurfing to see Rob’s full profile. It’s free!