Robert Tolar's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login 3 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Robert’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 12 References 11 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German; learning French
  • 50, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • bartender
  • No education listed
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Been a bicycle touring fool for a long time now. I'm no stranger to hospitality networking and it has been my honor to host many a cyclist and through hiker in Massachusetts. In 2015 I took a year off to wander across North America and that's when I started using CS. As it turns out I met the woman of my dreams through CS while I was cycling trans-continental and after I completed my year-long trip we got married. Now we're settled in North Dakota and happy to extend the courtesy of a roof to wayward travelers. My philosophy is that one hosts because it's simply the right thing to do. I don't expect people to sing for their supper, be interesting, want to hang out with me, or share my spiritual beliefs and political views. If I decline your request it's not because I think you're not cool enough or because I think you voted for Donald Trump- it just means we're busy and it's not a convenient time. ALLERGY ALERT: We have a very affectionate indoor cat named Bertie who sheds like crazy.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Both my wife, Stephanie, and I have been the recipients of travel hospitality over the years. I was an active host before we got married and see no reason to stop now. I've got plenty of friends already and I'm not looking for additional people in my life to entertain me or pretend as though they like me. Just here to do the right thing and keep the karma rolling.

Interests

Steph and I are both musicians. She sings, plays piano, flute, and a some guitar. I'm on guitar and mandolin. We love to jam so if we're not busy with lame shit like work then a good dinner, some home-cooked music, a little vino is our idea of a good time.

  • music
  • progressive politics
  • military history

Music, Movies, and Books

I'm mostly a jazz person. Stephanie is younger and less narrow-minded than me so she listens to all kinds of stuff.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I think this part of the profile is kind of lame. It really is not my place to claim anything I've done as "amazing." Let it suffice to say that I have been very fortunate in my life to have had many opportunities for amazing travel experiences and I am grateful for all the amazing people the Universe has thrown my way.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Bicycles and cooking are my twin passions. Sharing a great, home cooked meal with great company is one the activities that I hold in greatest esteem. So I can cook up a storm and also fix your bike.

Countries I’ve Visited

Andorra, Austria, China, Czech Republic, England, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Iceland, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Luxembourg, Mexico, Netherlands, Philippines, Russian Federation, Singapore, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Malaysia, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Robert’s full profile. It’s free!