Robert Isaf's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 10 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Robert’s full profile.

Overview

  • 28 references 17 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Arabic, Aramaic, French, German, Russian, Serbo-Croatian, Turkish
  • 30, Male
  • Member since 2013
  • Translator, poet, incredibly freelance journalist, oftent...
  • No education listed
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'm a 24-year old translator, poet, and freelancer, recently graduated with coursework in loads and loads of things and a degree officially in foreign languages. I love to travel, meet new people, see new places, and have unexpected adventures... no surprises there. I'm very outgoing and friendly and am very difficult to make uncomfortable. I've traveled a fair deal; attended UWC-AC from 2007-2009, Georgia Tech for two years, American University of Beirut for one year, and Bard College from 2012-2014. I speak rather good German and am very eager to embarrass myself in Russian; my Arabic is weak, and I am intently pursuing my study of Syriac (Aramaic).

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

What a very silly question.

Interests

I'm most passionate about poetry, and everything to do with the physical world around us - both man-made and natural, I mean. So, great architecture and pleasant forests. Naturally, hiking and strolling around cities are both very high up on my list. I find it difficult to travel without a small book or a fold of blank paper in my pocket. I love trying new foods and beers and wandering around unfamiliar streets and peering in shop windows and taking note of the differences in park bench design from one municipality to another... I'm really rather enthusiastic about most things, actually, if I'm to be totally honest.

  • books
  • poetry
  • architecture
  • design
  • cooking
  • beer
  • walking
  • shopping
  • technology
  • traveling
  • hiking
  • freelancing
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

I don't do these so much, I suppose. I'm every book I can get my hands on, but gravitate towards short tales and poetry. Movies that make me think, or make me laugh, I'm wholly behind, but I just seem not to watch too many. I love most music - although I'll note that there is a pretty distinct difference between southern rock and northern 'rock', and that my co-patriots clearly have the upper hand here. Classical or R&B, it's oldies forever.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

The Okefenokee was pretty magnificent. Walking through the Brecon Beacons a few Easters ago was brilliant as well.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I've been practicing my Southern cooking! Collard greens, for instance, are getting better and better. And of course I hope I make pretty good conversation.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, Egypt, England, France, Italy, Jordan, Scotland, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Turkey

Countries I’ve Lived In

Georgia, Germany, Lebanon, United States, Wales

Join Couchsurfing to see Robert’s full profile.

My Groups