Rocío Castío's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Rocío’s full profile.

Overview

  • 37 references 19 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning French
  • 34, Female
  • Member since 2013
  • teacher / interpreter / traveler
  • BA in English Language Teaching
  • From Hermosillo, Sonora, Mexico
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

Jo, Rocío here. I'm a local Hermosillense, full-time feminist that speaks spanglish and drinks coffee all the time. I was an active member of couchsurfing for around 5 years and now I'm happy to be back.

Reading my previous description makes me analyze how much I've evolved but I keep that same spirit.
My beliefs are the same, I would like to continue growing as much as I can and this includes meeting new people and perspectives so: you are welcome if you want to contribute to that!

I've been an english teacher for 9 years so far, in my hometown and also in Guadalajara where I lived for almost two years. I love trying new job experiences so if you know about anything that includes teaching, languages, reading, writing, literature, traveling, moving, I'm in! Lets share ideas and see what can come up from it.

Reading is my passion and therefore writing is as well. Riding my bike is my heart-beat. I do yoga since Covid19 showed up and it has saved my life in so many aspects. Also walking, keeping it simple. I've developed an interest in cooking this last year so I also like to experiment a lot in the kitchen. I love spicy food (specially mexican) and of course: BEER. Its culture and history are the most interesting ones and fortunately my hometown is growing a lot on that. We will definitely visit a local brewery if you come!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I haven't had the oportunity of traveling using the website, but I know people who have used it and also the ones that stay here in Hermosillo with me or with the locals. Beautiful people. Always with great stories to tell and with a free spirit.

I think is the greatest way to meet the real version of a city or town. Because you actually get into a real house and share the real food, the way they speak and the real story of the place. If you go to a hotel, they will always try to make you feel comfortable because you're paying to them. But if someone stays with me or I stay with a local, I would definitely do my best to see a smile on its face all the time and I expect the same from the rest.

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Rage Against The Machine, Led Zeppelin, Public Enemy, Cypress Hill, Incubus, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Metallica, Pink Floyd, Janis Joplin, Jimi Hendrix, Deftones, A Perfect Circle, Foo Fighters, NOFX, Misfits, Sublime, Bob Marley, Pantera, Gnarls Barkley, The Offspring, Tupac, Fabulosos Cadillacs, Pink, Skap, Röyksopp, AIR, Björk, Gorillaz

I love the new wave of rapers: Megan The Stallion, Jorja Smith, Doja Cat, Naty Peluso, Cardi B, Karol G
My father is a big fan of Trova music, so I grew up listening to these musicians like Joan Manuel Serrat, Silvio Rodriguez, Joaquin Sabina, Jose Luis Perales, Mercedes Sosa, etc. Thanks to him, this is a music that I really really enjoy, specially the message on the lyrics.
I also play the piano since I was 6. This is why classical music is a great part of me: Chopin, Mozart, Bach, etc

Movies: Schindler's list, Whiplash, Todo Sobre Mi Madre (huge Almodovar fan), Death Proof (also Tarantino), La Forma del Agua (also Guillermo del Toro), Green Book, Dallas Buyers Club, Knives Out, Sueño en otro idioma...

Series: BREAKING BAD, Black Mirror, Crown, Working Moms, Orange Is The New Black, Explained, RuPaul's Drag Race, Veneno, Queer Eye,

Authors: Mary Shelley, Hemingway, Fernando Pessoa, Amélie Nothomb, Murakami, Juan Rulfo, Carlos Fuentes, Khaled Hosseini, Jonathan Swift, Julio Cortazar, Isabel Allende, Ernesto Sabato, Cesar Vallejo

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Visited my friend James on his farm in Canada (who was the first traveler that I hosted, four before).
Going on a trip on my birthday: being nailing it for the last 7 years, al least a short one, like camping on the beach.

Teach, Learn, Share

I'm interested in ANYTHING that doesn't include being against human rights. You can imagine what type of conversations I try to avoid.

What I Can Share with Hosts

You're only welcome if you like dogs. Pavlova will love you (and would want to sleep next to you). I have a big and confy red couch where you can sleep. I live in the second floor and the yard is big as well. Feel free to use the kitchen and prepare something for you. Won't be mad if for me too :)

During my active years in Coushsurfing, I took most of the travelers to meet my family and they loved it. My parents, brother, aunts and cousins are amazing people. And of course my chosen family, friend always make everything so much better.

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Mexico

Old School Badges

  • 2 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Rocío’s full profile.

My Groups