Ruben Burgers's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ruben’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 11 References 5 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English; learning French, German, Spanish
  • 28, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • Student / app consultant / freelancer
  • Leisure management
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hey there!
I'm a student in Breda, should be done soon and I'll be free to travel the world and eventually (hopefully) live in New Zealand.. But that's still a long time from now. I'm an open minded, patient, funny (I think?), and passionate guy who can sometimes talk a lot (please tell me when I do!), but also a great listener.
Next to my study Leisure Management, I'm working as a bartender in a craft beer restaurant and as an Apple sales/service provider at Amac to pay for either my trips to someplace in the world, going out in Breda or any other mayor city, or to go to a festival. I've been living in Breda for over 5 years now, so I know my way around quite well. I also like to work out, cycle, mountain-bike, run through the woods (Breda has an awesome wood nearby), or anything active. Usually I go to the gym 2-3 days a week to stay vital.
Anything else you want to know, feel free to ask, I'm an open book. One more important thing: I have a Bengal cat (look up!) she’s really sweet, only loses hair twice a year so never saw someone allergic to her.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Some time ago I met someone who said they had a "couchsurf" address. So I asked what it was, and I really liked the concept. In the meantime I used couch surfing, I really like how open and kind hosts are, really interesting people. I'm hoping to meet new interesting people by being a good host. I can offer quite a lot of info on the Netherlands and Breda, so I can help people out most of the time. Also, my studio is right next to the train station (5 minutes walk, maybe 10 when you have a large backpack / suitcase), which makes it very easy to travel from my place to your next destination. I'm not expecting lots of responses on my "couchsurf host offer", since Breda isn't known as a mayor city, but it sure is one of the oldest and most beautiful cities in the Netherlands, next to Utrecht, Amsterdam, 's Hertogenbosch, Eindhoven and Groningen. Before Spain captured Breda a long time ago, the whole royal family was buried in the family tomb at the church in Breda, which is in Delft now, so it really is a mayor old city.

More important(!), Breda is one of the best cities to go out at night (or day to go shopping, open 7 days a week), because it has the most café's of the benelux in 1 square kilometer. You literally can roll to the next one if you had enough of one. The best part is you don't have to pay an entrance fee (except for one place, but it's still only 5,- euro's), no VIP places, and full bars/clubs on Thursdays, Fridays, and Saturdays. Sometimes also on Tuesdays, but depends on the time of the year (when there are students, they'll be in town on Tuesdays and Thursdays mostly). So I hope I can convince someone to visit Breda, just to see how beautiful it is! :)

Interests

- Meeting people
- Friends
- Eating
- Going out
- Work out / Gym
- Mountain biking
- Cycling
- Motor cycles
- Hiking
- Culture
- Music
- Nature
- Traveling
- Bushcraft

  • culture
  • books
  • festivals
  • running
  • working out
  • clubbing
  • shopping
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • music
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • surfing

Music, Movies, and Books

I usually read lots of articles instead of books all over the web

Movies:
- Inception
- Shutter Island
- Shawshank redemption
- The prestige
- The illusionist
- Now you see me
- Memento
- .. You get the kind of movies I like

For music.. Usually
- Deephouse/house
- Lounge/chillout
- Trance
- Electro Minimal
- Electro Swing
- Jazz
- Piano music
- Spotify.. some playlist called "Coffee house music"
But I actually listen to most kinds of music, depends on my mood

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I've cycled (bicycle with 3 gears and 25kg..) from Breda to Zadar (Croatia) with a friend through Vienna, Budapest, Zagreb and the national park Plitvice, a total of 2000km! Got to be Dutch is what we heard a lot. Also I’ve been traveling India for a few months, by motorbike.

Teach, Learn, Share

Give as much as you can give, without expecting anything in return.

Countries I’ve Visited

Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Hungary, India, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Monaco, Morocco, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Russian Federation, Serbia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

India, Netherlands

Join Couchsurfing to see Ruben’s full profile. It’s free!