Ryan Baker's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 2 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Ryan’s full profile.

Overview

  • 52 references 46 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Portuguese, Spanish; learning French, German
  • 31, Male
  • Member since 2015
  • Sports Coach
  • Master of Science
  • From Phoenix, AZ, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hello everyone! My name is Ryan. In 2014 I graduated with my bachelors degree in biological sciences with hopes of becoming a doctor. After spending a year realizing that I wasn't living my life to the fullest, I decided to travel the world, and in 2016 I moved to South America. I spent 2017 in Europe. And I spent the first half of 2018 in Asia, then moved to Germany to study. In 2021 I finally finished my master's degree in Cologne, Germany in Biomechanics =) Let's see what happens next!

I love working with kids, meeting new people, playing sports, and learning new languages! I am a native English speaker, proficient Spanish and Portuguese speaker, and novice French/German speaker.

I am a very happy and positive person! I do my best to always make the best of a situation, good or bad. I have made some really awesome connections through couchsurfing, and my adventures in Europe and South America would not be the same without them!! Meeting new people is one of my pillars of happiness...I love it and I love sharing stories and making connections :)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I had my first experience with CS in Palm Springs, and I will never forget how perfect it was!! I cant imagine having a better experience than I did that weekend (Thanks Garrett!!). And now on my future adventures I am so excited to see new places and meet new people.

I am a friendly person that loves to talk and learn about new cultures, and couchsurfing seems to have many like minded people! A wonderful community ready to open their arms and share and create new memories :)

Interests

My greatest passion is working with kids. Almost every job I have ever had has dealt with working or helping people younger than me, (except my most recent job in the laboratory, unfortunately!). I have been a summer camp counselor for many summers, worked as a tutor, and a sports coach for middle school athletes!

And coaching goes hand-in-hand with another one of my favorite things: sports/physical activity! Whether it's going on a hike, working out in a gym, playing tennis, or maybe even yoga, I enjoy movement and being active :)

Then there is traveling! I have lived in Europe for a few years, and I spent 10 months in South America, including 3 months in Brazil. I also lived for 5 months in china..basically I just want to continue seeing new places and experience new things!

  • writing
  • dancing
  • yoga
  • coach
  • working out
  • partying
  • traveling
  • music
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • camping
  • sports
  • tennis
  • teaching
  • languages
  • law
  • science

Music, Movies, and Books

Elvis Presley is my favorite recording solo artist! Also anything with a doo-wop style.

I absolutely love Metallica. They just have such an amazing ability to create powerful riffs and powerful music! They are tied as my number one favorite band of all time with Coldplay! I mean how can you not like the variety and consistency of Coldplay?? Definitely two of my favorites!

Choosing a favorite movie is very difficult, though. But undoubtedly, a movie I saw recently was absolutely epic was Interstellar.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Hitchhiking across Europe!!

Midnight, moonlight swim in the Philippines!! (Thanks Julius!)

I have also been in Salvador, Brazil during Carnaval, which is the biggest street party in the world!! If you can imagine miles of millions of people all dancing for a week long with music trucks rolling through and energy and crowds like you've never experienced, that's what it's like!

Copacabana in Rio de Janeiro during the new years!!! That is absolutely amazing!! Millions of people all in white clothes, the greatest firework show I've ever seen, and unforgettable memories with some of my best friends!!

Teach, Learn, Share

Exchange my stories, perspectives, and experiences with others =)

What I Can Share with Hosts

As a guest in your home, I will be myself! And that is a silly, light-hearted, kind, responsible, and polite young man! Through being in foster care and what-not, I have really developed a strong respect for others. Especially as a guest, I do my best to always accommodate and respect all rules he/she/ they have :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Argentina, Armenia, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Cabo Verde, Canada, Chile, China, Colombia, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, England, Estonia, France, Georgia, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Jordan, Latvia, Lithuania, Macao, Macedonia, Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Montenegro, Morocco, Netherlands, Norway, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Scotland, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States, Uruguay, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

China, France, Germany, United States, Uruguay

Join Couchsurfing to see Ryan’s full profile.