Saikat Halder's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 2 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Saikat’s full profile.

Overview

  • 29 references 16 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Bengali, Bangla, English, German, Hindi; learning German
  • 34, Male
  • Member since 2016
  • Manager
  • BTECH & MBA
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

**Traveling – it leaves you speechless, then turns you into a storyteller – Ibn Battuta**

Please read the My home section before sending the request.

I am a Bengali guy, currently living in Kolkata.

IG: saikat_nitie
I am a fun loving and open minded person. I enjoy going out of the city every other weekend or atleast once a month.

I enjoy hiking, Rappelling, swimming, kayaking and I like working out in my gym. Well, not that good at swimming.

I have stayed in all the major cities in India either for study or for work.

I love to cook when I get time, and Love playing the guitar.

I enjoy celebrating Durga Puja, Diwali, Holi and other festivals.

I am a minimalist. I do not believe much in materialistic things. I have very less stuff in my house. My philosophy of life is:

We have only one beautiful life, make it large, enjoy everyday, live the moment, take risks, do not sit at home to be safe. Love your parents and friends, do something good for the society and the needy, do not harm any one. Explore places, learn from others lives and appreciate what you have and be happy. Happiness and sadness are state of mind, Happiness should come from within and not from external stuff/things.

"Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails." -- Mark Twain

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I am very happy to be part of CS. Till date I have fantastic experience with my guests and hosts. I am in touch with all of those lovely people. I learned so much from them, about their daily life, hardships, travel stories, love stories and their philosophy. This kind of experience cannot be bought by money. This experience has made me happier, more outgoing, more relaxed, open minded and it has given me lot of positive energy :)
I want to continue hosting people from all over the globe and help them stay peacefully in my home and help them with everything they need here and become friends for life.

Please note: I am not hosting in my Kolkata residence now.

Interests

  • photography
  • cooking
  • yoga
  • meditation
  • house parties
  • rock music
  • guitar
  • hiking
  • social work
  • language exchange
  • solo travel
  • football
  • trekking
  • learning languages
  • parties
  • bike riding
  • gym
  • meeting new people
  • meeting interesting people
  • reading book
  • german language
  • i love travelling
  • doing yoga

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Pink Floyd, The beatles, GNR, Led zeplin, Lynrd Skynrd, Pearl Jam, Nirvana, Queens, Franki valli, james blunt, Rabindra Sangeet etc. Mostly Rock and some electronics music.

Movies: I am a movie buff!
Classic Bengali movies of Satyajit Ray, Ritwik Ghatak, Rituparno ghosh.

I love Tarantino movies along with Christopher Nolan, Guy Ritchie, I love Harry Potter series also.
All the movies of Leonardo, Christian Bale, Hugh Jackman, Johny Depp etc..

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Stayed alone in a tent in the middle of a forest, where wolves and bears were outside.
Paragliding at Bir, worlds 2nd highest paragliding spot.

Zorbing, rock climbing, zip lining.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can speak Bengali, Hindi, English and little bit of German. I can help you learning basics of these languages.

I can teach you basic cooking in Indian style, Rice, Chapati, Curries both veg and non veg :)

Basic acoustic guitar if you are interested :)

I can share my travel stories and can help you plan your travel in a low budget to India. I can connect you with other couchsurfers in other cities in India.

I want to learn from you as well, the best places in your country, the most popular food recipes, the day to day lives of people and history of your country.

What I Can Share with Hosts

If you do not have a specific plan then I can help you explore the city.

I can provide all the information.

I can help you plan your travel all over India :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Bangladesh, Bhutan, Cambodia, India, Nepal, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Thailand, United Arab Emirates

Countries I’ve Lived In

India, United Arab Emirates

Join Couchsurfing to see Saikat’s full profile.

My Groups