Sarah McMann's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 7 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sarah’s full profile.


  • 35 references 33 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning French
  • 28, Female
  • Member since 2017
  • Environmental Engineering Intern
  • No education listed
  • From Portland, ME, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I am 28 years old, from Portland, Maine, living in Fort Collins, Colorado. I currently work as an environmental engineering intern for a river restoration company, and sit on the Executive Board of an environmental non-profit. I had taken a break from school to travel and do things I enjoy, but am now on track to get double Bachelor's degrees and a Master's.

I have a passion for helping others - I went on a build with Habitat for Humanity in Auckland, New Zealand; completed a year with Americorps NCCC doing service projects, fire management, and disaster relief around the country; and spent a few months WWOOFing (working on an organic farm) in Hawaii. I was a wildland firefighter but currently work for a river restoration company in Colorado. In the future I would like to become a yoga teacher, and also start a career as an international aid worker.

Some of my biggest life goals include learning 5 languages, hiking a Triple Crown, getting my pilots license, publishing a novel, and completing a World Triathlon.

I love to stay home and read or watch movies, but I also love going out and meeting new people. I've become a bit of a coffee and beer snob. I do yoga almost every day and meditate at least once a week. I've been a vegetarian for 4 years now, but also very interested in experimenting with yummy vegan cooking (I LOVE cheese). Always willing to learn or something new :)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I am on couchsurfing because I have already waited far too long believing the misconception that you have to have a ton of money and a good job to travel. I want to immerse myself in as much of the world and as many different cultures as I can, so I want to skip the resorts and have the real experience. I want to meet new fun, wonderful people and cultivate friendships in all different places.


  • dancing
  • beer
  • coffee
  • vegetarian
  • vegan
  • yoga
  • working out
  • meditation
  • reading
  • eating out
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • canoeing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • going out
  • vegetarianism
  • biking
  • craft beer
  • exploring
  • healthy eating
  • vegan food
  • alternative medicine
  • beers
  • vegan cooking
  • natural medicine
  • acro yoga
  • road biking
  • bikram yoga
  • canoe
  • eating good food
  • mountain hiking
  • kayak
  • good beer
  • drinking beer
  • meditating
  • hot yoga

Music, Movies, and Books

MUSIC: As far as genres I would say Indie, Folk, Rock, Alternative, Country, and some R&B. My favorite artists are Fall Out Boy, Avett Brothers, The Tallest Man on Earth, the Beatles, and the Lumineers.

MOVIES: Inglourious Basterds, Black Mass, The Hobbit/Lord of the Rings, Harry Potter, Wild, The Theory of Everything, World War Z, Insidious, anything by Hayao Miyazaki

BOOKS: Too many, all of them! Kite Runner, A Thousand Splendid Suns, The Bell Jar, The Alchemist, The Art of Racing in the Rain, The Hobbit, Harry Potter, A Tale for the Time Being

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Worked with Habitat for Humanity in New Zealand, bungee jumped off the Auckland Bridge, served for a year in AmeriCorps, watched the sunrise over the sand dunes in Death Valley National Park, planned a four-month solo trip through Europe, completed a Wim Hof winter expedition in Poland, took a 10-minute ice bath in a river in Poland in February, attended Up Helly Aa

Teach, Learn, Share

Teach - I feel more like a jack of all trades. I don't know if I'm proficient enough in anything to teach it. But I'll share what I can!
Learn - Everything. Anything. Music, language, dance, art, making drinks, cooking, a sport, history, your profession, your hobby.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Laughs, good conversation, a drink, stories, crazy and elaborate conspiracy theories that I fall down rabbit holes looking into, occasionally local Colorado goods or trinkets from my travels, food (I am not a great cook, but I have fun doing it! Maybe we could make something together?), politeness, a dance, and friendship :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Canada, Czech Republic, England, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, New Zealand, Northern Ireland, Poland, Scotland, Spain

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Sarah’s full profile.

My Groups