Sarah Jackson's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sarah’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 13 References 4 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Portuguese, Spanish
  • 32, Female
  • Member since 2009
  • Whale conservation - project manager
  • University
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 95% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To experience as much of the world as possible!

ABOUT ME

I get itchy feet very quickly so have spent most of my time travelling & working abroad.. the best thing about it is the incredible people around every corner, and the food in far-flung places! I have worked seasonally as a naturalist on whale watching boats and in between love meeting new people, being creative, chatting about anything and everything, experiencing new cultures and learning new things. I love learning new languages but have a memory like a fish so it's always a work-in-progress :) I've spent the last few years in the UK working for a whale watching consultancy org - we advise whale watch operators on sustainability and "responsible whale watch" issues, plus work on conservation projects. It's fun - and involves travel as I manage a project in the Faroe Islands - so it ticked lots of boxes for me! My partner and I have just made the move to New Zealand though - which is fantastic - here begins a new adventure.

PHILOSOPHY

Say yes. And look at the bigger picture.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Meeting people is my favourite part! I've actually never been able to host anyone due to the places I've lived, which is an enormous shame, but soon I will address that inbalance! For now I'm having coffee and beers with people from every corner, and surfing the occasional couch. Very happy to meet and offer advice to anyone visiting Auckland, as I'm getting to know it myself!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Loads of great experiences! One or two that have been a little bizarre.. but mostly amazing. New experiences, new friends, new foods, new ways of looking at the world, new ways of making a cup of tea.. it's so much more than staying at someone's house for free (although that can sometimes be great too).

Interests

Inspiring films, design books, spicy food, tea and biscuits, learning languages, bright colours, dancing, photography, seeing new places, long train journeys, whales, spontaneity, making people smile, a big glass of red wine, collecting trinkets, marine conservation, travelling and meeting new people of course..

  • fish
  • books
  • design
  • photography
  • dancing
  • environment
  • dining
  • wine
  • red wine
  • beer
  • coffee
  • boating
  • movies
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • fishing
  • surfing
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

Any film by Wes Anderson! But hundreds of favourites. All sorts of music as long as it gets my feet a-tapping. Loads of books - into Murakami at the moment.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Going out in a boat on the Ganges at dawn - the ghats at Varanasi and the funeral rituals are incredible to see. Seeing a blue whale for the first time, then seeing its calf pop up alongside it.

Teach, Learn, Share

I could talk all day about whales and the marine environment - so very happy to share that!

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Australia, Bolivia, Brazil, Cambodia, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Fiji, India, Japan, Mexico, Peru, Portugal, United States, Vanuatu

Countries I’ve Lived In

Mexico, New Zealand, Portugal, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Sarah’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups