Lyon, Rhone-Alpes, France

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 2 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sam’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Fluent in English, French, German, Japanese; learning Chinese, Dutch, Esperanto, Italian, Korean, Persian (Farsi), Portuguese, Russian, Spanish
  • 27, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Researcher at INSA de Lyon
  • Ph.D. theoretical physics
  • From Tokyo, Japan
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

With a little bit of courage, you can eat a croissant with sausage.

I'm originally from Japan and lived in Germany for many years. At the end of my study I went to France to finish my master degree. I do everything rather spontaneously and often have no idea about the administrative stuff.

I also like cycling. In August 2011 when I went to France for the exchange year I moved out by bicycle and went to Lyon. With all the stuff I needed it took 6 days and a lot of energy.

And from September 2012 to July 2013, I cycled from France to Japan, discovering a lot of things over Europe/Middle East/Asia. You can learn a bit more on my website:

Now I'm doing my Ph.D. in theoretical physics and traveling a lot in between. (join me if you like nature!!)

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I first tried to host people in Germany but in my small city there was pretty much no tourist. Then in Lyon I could host some tourists it was a great experience. On the way back to Japan I was hosted by a lot of nice people. I'm fascinated by the passion of other couch hosts :)


Hard Liqueur (Vodka Bacardi etc)

music, cooking, communication with cultural difficulties

I also like sport, especially ball games (like ping pong or basketball etc) I jog every morning since 2004, a kind of psychological disease :) so if you would like to stay here I have to annoy you at 6 am, because I cannot live without jogging in the morning

Music, Movies, and Books

I like classical music a lot and I'm looking for people who might be interested in playing music together. In particular, I'm looking for a violinist at the moment (I know a girl who plays the viola and I myself play the cello, piano or the guitar)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Being abroad

Teach, Learn, Share

I did an internship in Poland as a German teacher. I also speak several languages so it might be interesting to exchange the languages.

Computer programming is (a sort of) my profession though I'm not very good at hardware stuff.

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, China, Croatia, Denmark, Georgia, Greece, Italy, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Monaco, Montenegro, Netherlands, Slovenia, South Korea, Switzerland, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, Uzbekistan

Countries I’ve Lived In

Brazil, France, Germany, Iran, Japan, Poland

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    15 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Sam’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups