Marius Höckel's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • 91% response rate
  • Last login 10 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Marius’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 49 References 33 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German; learning French, Spanish, Swedish
  • 29, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Student, DJ, bike messenger, barista ..
  • in progress
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Finishing my studies in engineering management, working on my DJing, getting ready for an internship in Australia, seeing as much of the world as i can on the way, producing some nice music eventually and financially keep my head above the water with fun, purposeful jobs at the same time. Ah and I'm an active member of the burning man community.

And of course a lot of living, learning and growing.

Probably also starting a family at some point and travelling every country? Maybe starting a business and/or a cheese farm in Australia or New Zealand.

ABOUT ME

I like travelling. I enjoy unusual travelexperiences. I already went though a couple of interesting missions like travelling without money that has led me hitchhiking to Spain, recycling food (dumpster diving), getting to know squat life, life in caves and hippie communes. Fun life without a carbon footprint. I thought about living like that permanently but then decided to study Energy- and Process Technology at the Technical University in Berlin (renewables). I wanted to study something purposeful to make the world a better place. After two years I switched to engineering management, also did a year overseas at the University of Newcastle in Australia but I’m a rather slow student. Getting caught up with work, travels, parties and side projects, questioning purpose and life.

Instagram: mariusmelange
Facebook: Marius Melange OR Marius Höckel

I'm in a relationship.

PHILOSOPHY

in progress. I guess enjoy life while you can.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Offering a couch in Berlin and surfing all over the world.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Couchsurfed at places of people i randomly met and had a really nice host in Iceland together with a latvian friend I also met through the couchsurfing website after some exhausting travels in Central America. He took us in very kindly and showed us around the golden circle with his girls. I couchsurfed in New York and hosted many lovely travellers in Berlin. I love making friends like this.

Interests

Photography, diving, riding my bike (fixie), reading, all kinds of sports sort of (surfing, swimming, rockclimbing, tennis, yoga, scuba diving..). travel experiences like skydiving, bungee jumping and rafting if i get the chance. Just having a good time basically, also learning and growing. And partying of course, techno parties like Sunday at Berghain. I’m a pretty good DJ and already had gigs at the renowned STAUB techno party at about blank and some international gigs. Like the concept of sustainable hedonism, trying to be good, I like vegan food. But I’m not strict.

  • photography
  • dining
  • pilates
  • marathon
  • running
  • reading
  • traveling
  • cycling
  • surfing
  • scuba diving
  • bungee jumping
  • skydiving
  • sports
  • tennis
  • swimming
  • hitchhiking
  • techno music
  • techno
  • diving
  • australia
  • berghain

Music, Movies, and Books

A lot, enjoyed Hermann Hesse very much. Kant is cool, Nietzsche is a bit intense. I like all different kind of Movies but don't watch many anymore. I like documentaries, movies about travelling and movies with heart. And lately also dramas, some. I love techno! But also jazz and quiet singer songwriter music from time to time. And melodic electronic music. (I DJ both softer electronic music and hard intense techno)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Doing a trip to Spain with nearly no money (/carbon footprint/wastefree). After staying in Granada to explore alternative life in squats and caves and recycling food from supermarkets (Albaicin is so beautiful), i ended up hitchhiking to a hippiecommune. Stayed next to a waterfall, doing community stuff like recycling and growing food, building a forest kitchen and a natural pool. Living without money away from “babylon” , how the rainbow family hippies called it, was fun. I even got offered a house to live in but then i applied for univerity from a solar powered satellite "Internet cafe" in that commune and made my way back to Germany, well Berlin.

Running the Berlin marathon spontaneously under the name Gero without training for it. Managed to do it under 4 hrs with much pain and many blisters, being a bike messenger helps.

Travelling 10 countries in one month (mostly Central America). Crazy trip!

DJing at one of the best Techno Parties in Berlin.

Working as a bike messenger, living in a beach house in Bondi was also fun.

Teach, Learn, Share

I love to live, to learn, to teach and share. Of course!

What I Can Share with Hosts

Good food and stories, good music and my friendship. Some knowledge about my research, insider tips, experience I can share.. And my couch in Berlin or the south of Germany or Australia in return of course.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Belize, China, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, El Salvador, France, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, Indonesia, Israel, Italy, Malaysia, Mexico, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Portugal, Singapore, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey, Ukraine, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Germany, Spain, Sweden

Join Couchsurfing to see Marius’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups