Joyce & Luke's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 83% response rate
  • Last login 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Joyce’s full profile.

Overview

  • 64 references 32 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English; learning French, German
  • 38, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • No occupation listed
  • Msc but life teaches so much more
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Please don't send me friend requests until we meet in person. Please also consider the CS guidelines. Thank you :)

CURRENT MISSION
Buy and house and travel more!!

Walked the Camino Portugues in 2019 ;)

ABOUT ME

In 2009 I decided to dedicate my life to travelling and haven't regretted it since. I feel at home everywhere and still find myself roaming around the world 4-6 months of the year. Travelling for me is an ongoing road of self development and couchsurfing has made my travels so much richer!

Please don't contact us for dating or with the intention for dating, this is NOT a dating site! Also no free loaders please, this is not just a free place to stay, please understand the philosophy behind this concept and everyone will be happy 😊

We both work Monday-Friday. Depending if the person has several vouches, they can stay in my house. If no vouches or many references you will have to leave the house with us.

Please write us a proper couch request, if you come over to my place you leave it neat and tidy. Please clean up after cooking and do the dishes :) Pets have to stay outside and have to be dog friendly and we only have 1 couch (a comfy one) so one person suits best.

If we're not working we're very happy to show people the city or surrounding area. We love cooking, baking and enjoy eating the results with a glass of wine. We would really enjoy it if you could cook a traditional meal for us when you are staying with us or teach us how to cook it. We love learning new recipes :)

PHILOSOPHY

Live like this day is your last. Enjoy every minute of it, life is too short to worry about little things. Stay cool, relax and be friendly.

Don't take life too seriously, it isn't permanent!

"Save your love through loneliness
Save your love through sorrow
I gave you my onlyness
Give me your tomorrow"
By Johnny Cash and June Carter

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

When I was travelling I have met lots of nice people all over the world. Every time I have my own house I host people and organise meetings/dinners for other travellers.
I tries to organise some dinners while travelling and organised some dinners in Chengdu, which were all very nice and much fun!

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

June 2010: Met Paul in Aachen and travelled together in Thailand, we did the Open Water diving course together in Koh Tao, and had a great time.
Met Anne in Bangkok, we travelled two days together and visited some nice temples.
August 2010: I was surfing Xiang's couch and had a great time there. Was a very good experience, she made me really feel at home. I surfed her couch again when I came back from Shangri-la.
September 2010: I surfed Jane's couch in Chengdu, organised some CS dinners (and met Tracy who offered me her couch), so when I came back from Tibet I surfed Tracy's couch. And again organised some nice dinners!!
Met Ashley and surfed with her in Chengdu.
October 2010: Couchsurfed in Hong Kong
Met Darien in Penang Malaysia at a meeting and became friends with him.
December 2010: Did some meetings in Phuket and became friends with Antonio and Shady.
January 2011: Attended/organised some meetings in Chiang Mai with Shady and met Max. We travelled together for more than a month through North Thailand an Laos and he introduced me to Luca and Aga.
February 2011: Surfed with Rodrigo and his housemates in Sydney.
March 2011: Attended CS zone meetings in Melbourne.
April 2011: Surfed with Joe in Airlie Beach, travelled with Sara and Jessica to Tasmania and surfed with Patrick in Hobart.
After this a lot followed, hosted people in The Netherlands and Australia... But this is how it all started.

Interests

Sports; yoga, and I teach yoga as well, also enjoy skiing, fitness, swimming and dancing. I have been dancing Ballroom and Latin for 7 years and learned to dance Salsa.
Reading a good book, watch movies, cooking, like good food and I like to prepare dinner for my hosts/guests.

Music, Movies, and Books

Movies: Lots of independent movies, Psychological Thrillers and Crime. For example: Cold Mountain, Dragonfly, Taken, The Green mile. But also The Kite Runner, Seven years in Tibet, Dances with wolves. There are so many....
TV Series: Max got me totally addicted to Dexter, just all seasons are finished now :(
Music: Music is my life!! I play Ukulele and learning to play guitar, also sing in a choir at times. What I listen to depends on my mood. At home I like to listen to country, singer songwriter, indie, softrock, and I really like to go to festivals. So if you know a nice festival, tell me or take me there.
Books: I love to read when I'm travelling but most of the time I meet so many people I forget to read, hehe. I'd love to write my own book one day and used to write travelstories.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Mountainflight to the Mount Everest! And many other things.
Visit Tibet and walked to Mount Everest Base Camp to see the sunset!
Roadtrip in Tasmania, wild camping in the bush and using all the battery so couldn't leave the next morning.

Teach, Learn, Share

Learn: Italian, Spanish, Guitar
Teach: Dutch, English, Cooking, Ukulele
Share: A lot of fun, drinks, wine, food, board and card games.

I really like to listen to music, eat good food and drink wine. I also like to chill out with my couchsurfers and chat about different lives, countries and cultures.

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Austria, Belgium, Cambodia, China, Czech Republic, Egypt, England, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Kosovo, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Singapore, Spain, Switzerland, Tanzania, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey, United Kingdom, Vatican City State, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Austria, Malaysia, Netherlands, Thailand

Old School Badges

  • 6 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Joyce’s full profile.

My Groups