Tom Asten's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address Verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login 6 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Tom’s full profile.


  • 280 references 140 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German, Spanish; learning French
  • 41, Male
  • Member since 2007
  • Systems Engineer
  • Well educated during my travels and maybe some sort of sc...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


To become happy in Germany


I love to travel to nearly every place in the world. Most important for me is to see how people are living in the country and to understand their culture and get in touch with people living in the country.
Since February I'm out of work and since April I left my country to travel through Latinamerica. First stop Costa Rica to learn Spanish.
I love to go out with friends or those who want to become one, see different views on a place and I love to talk about almost everything. ;)
For more details we have to meet...

Me encanta a viajar a casi todos los lugares del mundo. Lo mas importante para mi es ver como la gente vive en el país y para comprender su cultura y ponerse en contacto con las personas que viven en el país.
Desde febrero estoy sin trabajo y desde el principio de abril dejé mi país para viajar en Latinoamerica. Primera parada Costa Rica para aprender español.
Me encanta salir con mis amigos o los que quieren serlo, ver diferentes opiniones en un lugar y me encanta hablar sobre todas las cosas. ;)
Para obtener mas detalles, tenemos que encontrarnos...


I haven't been everywhere, but it's on my list. :)
No he estado en todas partes del mundo, pero está en mi lista :)

"Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans."
"La vida es lo que te pasa mientras estás ocupado haciendo otros planes."

Give children roots and wings
Dé raizes y alas a niños

The world is a book and those who don't travel see only one page.
El mundo es un libro y aquellos que no viajan sólo ven una página.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


So far I've surfed during my vacation and hosted in the time in between, but since April I'm not able to host anymore, but I'm going to meet a lot of different people in Latinamerica, while travelling within the next year.
I've prepared meetings in my hometown and reached every newbie in Bonn a hand, so if you are one of them, don't hesitate to send your questions to me, even though I'm not in Bonn anymore I'm still able to answer questions about it.
Besides that I've joined the PR & Media Team of CouchSurfing to support the community in answering questions of journalists.

Hasta ahora he "surfed" durante mis vacaciones y "hosted" mientras, pero desde abril no puedo hospedar, pero voy a conocer a mucha gente diferente en Latinoamerica, mientras viajaba en este año.
He preparado las reuniones en mi ciudad y doy a todos los novatos en Bonn una mano, así que si eres uno de ellos, no dude en enviar sus preguntas a mi, aunque yo no estoy en Bonn siempre puedo para responder preguntas sobre esta.
Además de eso he unido a la equipo de prensa de CouchSurfing para ayudar la comunidad en respuesta a las preguntas de los periodistas.


After I received my first two CouchSurfers in June 2007, I used CS a lot during a road trip in the US.It was my first awesome experience with cs and it' going on since then!I surfed so far: (84 Couches / 26 countries)
1. Zach (Austin) 2. Josh (New Orleans) 3. Leanna (Miami) 4. Josh (Orlando) 5. John (Charleston) 6. Mark (Washington DC) 7. Bron (Munich) 8. Yvonne (Hamburg) 9. Paul (Rotterdam)10. Coni (Bonn)11. Wil (London)12. John (London)13. Luca (Antwerpen)14. Paige15. Yvonne (Cologne)16. Tine (Copenhagen)17. Gabriela (Uppsala)18. Heydi (Rovaniemi)19. Aino (Oulu)20. Sanni (Vaasa)21. Minna (Tampere)22. Tiina (Helsinki)23. Nelli (Tallinn)24. Beate (Riga)25. Maike (Berlin)26. Birgit & Felix (Vienna)27. Josh (Berlin)28. Nina (Stuttgart)29. Basia (Rotterdam)30. Ania (Krakow)31. Andrew (Brugge)32. Caspar (Berlin)33. Wim and Agi (Budapest)34. Shirley (Vienna)35. Sarah (Vienna)36. Ana (Madrid)37. Dean & Vicki (Thunder Bay)38. Raphaelle (Montreal)39. Heather (Toronto)40. Alan (Winnipeg)41. Greg (Calgary)42. Bree (Edmonton)43. Jodie (Fort Saint John)44. Mia (Madrid)45. Erik (Madrid)46. Paul and Lorraine (Rotterdam)47. Ana (Guayaquil)48. Katia (Madrid)49. Shani (Tel-Aviv)50. Alina (Jerusalem)51. Ariel & Hagai (Haifa)52. Lorraine (Amsterdam)53. Katrin (Bonn)54. Michael and Halef (Atlanta)55. Flakita (Herédia)56. Elsy (Guatemala City)57. Maria Lu (Antigua)58. Lainie and Miro (Antigua)59. Cynthia (San Pedro Sula)60. Jose (Tegucigalpa)61. Sergio and Camila (Managua)62. Sandra (Granada)63. Priscilla (San José)64. Mickey and Jennifer (Barranquilla)65. Tania (Bucaramanga)66. Marta (Bogotá)67. Diana (Cali)68. Kahyda (Machala)69. Jessenia (Guyaquil)70. Franco & Camilo (Lima)71. Paige &Barbara (Santiago de Chile)72. Chris(Bonn)73. Jenny (Bogota) 74. Luis (Maracaibo) 75. Naty (San Jose) 76. Sandra (Bogota) 77. Natalia (Villavicencio) 78. Luisa (Medellin) 79. Christoph (Berlin)80. Yenifer (Ibague)81. Anna Camila (Cali)82. Nancy (Mexico City)83. Ita (Guadalajara)84. Denise (Guadalajara)

Getting to know to soo many different and interesting people was great!I've hosted some people coming to visit my lovely hometown Bonn or the close big city Cologne and as well started hosting in my new home Bogota. I have already hosted: (132 Guests / 33 Countries)
Hosted in Bonn: 1. Travis & Erik (USA) 2. Bron (Australia) 3. Charlotte & Constance (France) 4. Gina (USA) 5. Juliet (UK) & Nina (Germany) 6. Sotiria (Greece) 7. Annely & Nelli (Estonia) 8. Tina & Wiwo (Austria) 9. Maren (Germany)10. Melanie (Germany)11. David (Germany)12. Thomas & Lore (Belgium)13. Enrico (Italy)14. Heydi (Finland) & Wil (Australia)15. Venera (Bulgaria)16. Andrea (Germany)17. Desi & Marcel (Germany)18. Lia (Germany)19. Rachel (USA)20. Edouard (France)21. Katharina (Italy)22. Anique & Rossi (Netherlands)23. Jonathan (Australia) & Jez (UK)24. Eveline (Netherlands)25. Dorothea (Germany)26. Anna Camila (Colombia)27. Ulf & Max (Germany)28. Kathrin (Germany)29. Shannon & Terry (Canada)30. Sarah (Germany)31. Caspar (Germany)32. Annick-Marie (Canada)33. Raphaelle (Quebec ;))34. Juliane (Germany)35. Rianeth (Germany)35. Coni (Germany)36. Yvonne (Germany)37. Maike (Germany)38. Lesia (Ukraine)39. Michael (Germany)40. Manoella (Brazil)41. Pablo (Spain)42. Erik (Canada)43. Doron (Israel)44. Vera & Judith (Germany)45. Luka (Croatia)46. Max (Germany) & Morgane (Netherlands)47. Annukka (Finland)48. Sonia (Spain)49. Katharina (Germany)50. Anna-Mari (Finland)51. Joanne (Scotland)52. Anastasia & Steffi & Katja (Germany)53. Jessica (USA)54. Diana & Alexandra (Romania)55. Nina (Slovenia)56. Angelica (Colombia) & Patrick (Belgium)57. Isabelle (Germany)58. Neill (USA)59. Eva (Denmark)60. Anne (Netherlands)61. Eva (Austria)63. Claudi (Germany)64. Nic (Australia) & Kirsty (United Kingdom)65. Shani (Israel)66. Belle & Lívia & Linda (Brazil)67. Steffi (Germany)68. Ashley & Rachel (Canada)69. Guiseppe (Germany) & Louie (New Zealand)70. Meredith (USA)71. Carlos & Laurent (France)72. Patrick (Germany)73. Naomi (Canada) & Joline (UK)74. Michael (Germany)75. Antonia (Germany)76. Miguel (Spain)77. Trae (Canada)78. Gundl (Germany)79. Tanya (Belarus)80. Emily & Emily & Axana (USA)81. Kerstin (Austria)82. Jessica (USA)83. Elena (Russia)84. Ludovica (Italy)85. Ana & Katia (Ecuador)86. Astrid & Judith (Netherlands)Hosted in Bogota:87. Paul (Germany)88. Quentin (France)89. Paige (USA)90. Desiré & Jessica (Germany)91. Kristin & Svenja (Germany)92. Mari (USA)93. William (USA)94. Nancy (Mexico)95. Esther (Germany)96. Steven (USA)97. Mario (Costa Rica)98. Sven (Germany)99. Derya (Germany)100. Sauro (Italy)101. Val (Colombia)


At first, I'm nearly interested in everything! It always depends on how people are trying to tell me about it.
Main interests at the moment are travelling and getting to know places and people better, finding new friends in every place.
My hobbies are procycling, running (halfmarathon, baby! ;)), computers and meeting friends.

Al principio, estoy interesado en casi todo! Siempre depende de como la gente trata de decirme.
Mis intereses principales en este momento son viajar y conocer lugares y gente mejor, encontrar nuevos amigos en todo lugar.
Mis pasatiempos son carrera de ciclismo, correr (semimarathon, baby!;)), computadoras y encontrarme con mis amigos.

  • culture
  • books
  • perfumes
  • running
  • politics
  • traveling
  • communications
  • history

Music, Movies, and Books

I love movies!
I'm collecting DVDs, due to that I have seen a lot of movies and always willing to talk about them! :)
Me encantan las películas!
Estoy coleccionando DVDs, debido a que he visto un montón de películas y siempre dispuesto a hablar de ellos! :)

Nearly every kind of music is fine with me, only for German folk music or HipHop I have to drink loads of beer before... ;)
Casi todo tipo de música está bien conmigo, sólo para la música popular alemana o HipHop tengo que tomar unas cervezas antes de ... ;)

Books... I was used to read many books, but since I'm working I have less time for it. The last were Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows and Lord of the Rings. At the moment I'm reading 5 people you meet in Heaven, a book the niece in my host family in Costa Rica recommended.
Libros ... Yo estaba acostumbrado a leer muchos libros, pero desde que estaba trabajando tengo menos tiempo para eso. Los últimos fueron Harry Potter y las Reliquias de la Muerte y Lord of the Rings. En este momento estoy leyendo 5 personas que encontrarás en el cielo, un libro de la sobrina de mi familia Tica me recomienda.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

visited 41 states (18.2%)Create your own visited map of The World or website vertaling duits?

Teach, Learn, Share

I love to teach people about my personal opinions on politics, history and other daily stuff. ;)
I can teach about my hometown Bonn, Germany, German language and German history. Here in Costa Rica I turned out to be also a good person to practice English with...
Me encanta enseñar a la gente sobre mis opiniones personales de política, historia y muchas otras cosas. ;)
Puedo enseñar sobre mi ciudad Bonn, Alemania, el idioma alemán y la historia alemana. Aquí en Costa Rica que resultó ser también una buena persona para practicar Inglés...

I'd love to learn Salsa and since I'm taking Spanish classes and travel in Latinamerica I want to improve my Spanish also.
Me gustaría aprender salsa. Desde que estoy tomando clases de español y viajar en Latinoamérica quiero mejorar mi español también.

Sharing travel experiences and information about other countries and cultures is always a good thing! :)
Compartir experiencias de viaje e información sobre otros países, lugares y culturas es siempre una buena idea! :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Bolivia, Canada, Chile, Cuba, Ecuador, Finland, France, Germany, Guatemala, Honduras, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Panama, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Venezuela

Countries I’ve Lived In

Colombia, Costa Rica, Germany, Netherlands

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    76 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Tom’s full profile.

My Groups