Wayne Rash's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address Verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 71% response rate
  • Last login 1 day ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Wayne’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 18 References 14 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Russian, Spanish
  • 52, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Podiatrist and Massage Therapist
  • Doctor of Podiatric Medicine, BS Psychology, Certified Ma...
  • From Grand Rapids, MI, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me


Making Friends across the world, Service Above Self, Body Work, Fun and spiritual pursuits. Connections with others on many levels... especially Gay Men.


I live in the Castro district of San Francisco..the Gayborhood which is very lively and supportive of diversity. It's a great neighborhood where I can walk to everything! Great coffee shops and bars, bank, shopping, post office, public trans is right out my front door. I'm in a 3 bedroom apt with 2 room mates. it's a railroad style apt with long hallway and the rooms off the hall and end of hall with large common room, large kitchen and laundry in the building... just fyi I guess. SF is huge tourist destination and get more requests than can possibly accomadate..also my room mates are not CSers...so a have to be considerate. I am great host to the city and to California and USA in general very knowledgeable about travel here and sights, amenities etc. I am experienced in domestic and international travel. I embrace several spiritual practices augmenting and symbolizing my life committment to "being of service to others". One example is my volunteer service in the Leprosy Project in South India (Tamil Nadu) and hope to expand this service work to other areas as needed. I am Podiatrist, but have also been trained in Massage Therapy, to allow more freedom with my schedule and travel.
I love eating local fruits and veggies everywhere I go. I love coffee and occasionally hanging out in coffee shops. I do Yoga and enjoy meditation. Working out, walking cities, especially if there is a cool bridge (Like Brooklyn, Golden Gate, Penang, etc)

Love to Swim, especially in Ocean & naked. I swim on Marshalls beach San Francisco it's a nude beach popular with gay men. Hawaii is also a favorite on Big Island Hilo Side.
Love meeting new people and keeping in touch with my friends around the world!
I enjoy good wine and beer (IPA especially) like to go play. I'm into Leather and enjoy places like the "Eagle bar" in San Francisco & NYC. Like to play pool especially at a bar named "hole in the wall" in SOMA district of San Francisco. Occasionally love to go out dancing. I do country western dance on regular basis, as well as Morris Dance (google it!) Morris Dance is an ancient British folk tradition.
I love Tennis, Golf, Swimming Naked in the Ocean (Marshall's Beach, SF), Yoga, Walks and Hikes... and other more "creative sports".


Service above self and connecting with others is my goal

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


anyway I can... surf, connect, chat, befriend, guide around my city or others, host whenever appropriate for my living situation and schedule. Open to possibilities and support multicultural exchange


First time was Sept 2008 in NYC, (Jersey City) it was awesome and I've been doing it ever since. Now I am happy to be able to host as well as surf. :-)


People, culture, playing the piano, symphony music (especially Bach and Baroque music), ballet, opera, local, WSJ, NYT, social justice, volunteering and ministry leadership. I love YOUtube, love taking pictures of everything I do...ha and often take pictures of my feet...to show where I've been. I love exotic food (Indian, Thai, Mexican spicy, peppers, Japanese, seafood, Vietnamese Pho etc), coffee, walking cities, yoga and nude yoga, reading, nudity sometimes, and wine(especially 🥂 champagne )/beer/cocktails. Love to live simple comfortable life with my own schedule...sleeping ocassionally, nice bedding and clean fresh sheets, coffee with friends, gym...and sexual workouts keep me busy also..haha

  • arts
  • culture
  • dancing
  • ballet dancing
  • dining
  • seafood
  • cooking
  • wine
  • beer
  • coffee
  • yoga
  • massage therapy
  • coach
  • working out
  • meditation
  • walking
  • shopping
  • reading
  • traveling
  • volunteer work
  • music
  • piano
  • opera
  • hiking
  • sports
  • tennis
  • swimming
  • golf
  • tourism
  • volunteering
  • beaches

Music, Movies, and Books

The Four Agreements, Richard Rhor, Wayne Dyer, Historical and Biographical Books, Napolean Hill, Brian Weiss, Rumi, Ghandi, many more... usually I am reading at least 4-6 books at the same time...love libraries, newspapers, magazines and appreciating people and life!
The musical artist that has probably given me the most joy and impact is Morrissey, I love the group Chicago too. Billy Joel is a favorite and I tend to like 70 and 80s stuff that I can sing to. I play piano and percussion instruments and have played in marching bands, jazz and concert bands (Michigan State)

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Connecting with people through Massage has been a fun and awesome experience...I feel it is a true gift. my definition of spirituality is "the art of making connections" and I do that sometimes through massage and body contact.

Traveling to India was a huge life changing experience! loving, peaceful, generous people...

Teach, Learn, Share

My favorite line is:
"Say What you WANT, not what you DON'T want."

My life coach taught me this and I try to live it. Try it! it helps you manifest what you truly want in life, in any situation. If we complain/concentrate on something we don't want...guess what we get? If we concentrate on something we want....we get it. the Universe ALWAYS says YES!! "Put it out there" and receive!!

What I Can Share with Hosts

Loving, caring spirit. Maybe massage. Sometimes my bed if you're friendly and we're comfortable with each other LOL. Wine or chocolates usually. Play my piano for you or with you. Can cook a few dishes.. quinoa is a favorite. I have enjoyed making breakfast for some of my Surfers, or even cooking a dinner together. (Like Joe's Special - a San Francisco traditional Barbary Coast dish with spinach, meat, eggs, served with sourdough bread and red wine. :-) I'm pretty knowledgeable about major US cities and also S. India where I have done a lot of volunteer work.

Countries I’ve Visited

Bahamas, Belgium, Canada, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, India, Italy, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, Netherlands, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Wayne’s full profile. It’s free!