Shane Sims's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 19 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Shane’s full profile.

Overview

  • 6 references 5 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Greek (modern), Spanish
  • 30, Male
  • Member since 2010
  • Wine Slinger
  • Ongoing
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

TRAVELERS:
I recently moved to back to my hometown of Laramie, WY to help take care of my parents. I still feel like I'm settling in, and I won't really feel super comfortable hosting until I complete some renovations here. If you would like to meet up for anything I would be happy to show you around. If you need a place to stay and want to know more about the renovations, send me a message and we can talk.

THESE DAYS:
I work at a local wine/mead bar and it's a magical place. I might be going back to school soon. There's a lot I'm trying to get done at the house and within myself, day by day. Otherwise, I get out to local music/events fairly often. I also volunteer with a couple local non-profits that focus on food and youth in foster care.

THE REST:
"Do I contradict myself? Very well, then I contradict myself, I am large, I contain multitudes." - Walt Whitman

I think about and try to create harmonious social and ecological relationships.
I feel most alive when I am outside and I'm inspired by the natural world.
I am easygoing and have a dry sense of humor. I value kindness and am trying to learn how to communicate better.

Some activities I enjoy include attending live music, cooking, and exploring the outdoors.

I am part feline.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I have stayed with a few hosts internationally and a couple here in the U.S. When I moved across the country, I stayed with a couchsurfer in my new town for a couple days. He invited me to stay longer, and I started greeting other couchfurfers and giving them the tour/helping get them settled while he worked for a couple weeks until I got my own job and place. We remained friends as I lived in the area. It was incredibly inspiring.

I value authentic connection and I think this platform can be a tool to facilitate it when used correctly. This adds depth to travel that can make the experience less transactional.

I look forward to being able to host more and thus far the only things holding me back has been the instability of my housing situations - I've been doing a lot of moving and living in housing situations that wouldn't be surfer-friendly.

Interests

My interests multiply faster than I can keep up with them so some are actively explored while many more are on the backburners
--Active interests: vermicomposting, live music, mead, community-building, keeping up my Spanish, non-violent communication, tai-chi, postcards, and first aid.
--Themes: connection to the natural world, education, consciousness, hidden worlds

  • education
  • dining
  • cooking
  • partying
  • reading
  • traveling
  • juggling
  • music
  • hiking
  • camping
  • rock climbing
  • agriculture
  • teaching
  • mountains
  • español
  • community
  • tai chi

Music, Movies, and Books

--Books: Small is Beautiful, Hope for the Flowers, House of Leaves, and Stephen King short stories
--Music: tastes are a mile(few kms) wide and on the eclectic side
--Movies: Not a huge part of my life, but I like Fried Green Tomatoes

It's more fun to talk about in person!

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

El Camino de Santiago del Norte. 5 weeks, 500 miles. More to unpack from this pilgrimage than I can adequately express. It was a dream. Now I'm trying to live that dream in the "daily" life.

Teach, Learn, Share

could teach/offer: juggling, kombucha/kefir/fermented vegetables, first aid (hopefully not needed but I could teach a little?), active listening, a calming presence, a wildness behind that calming presence

want to learn: more and better ways to cook, how to build community, bits of other languages, what makes you tick, anything really!

let's share: respect, unforeseen circumstances leading to: stories (of course), food (of course), spontaneity, a night out, a night in, a way to make the world (or ourselves) better.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Respect, empathy, good one-on-one conversation, stories. I love meeting and sharing with others, but I can also be self-sustaining if hosts are busy/limited in what they can offer.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Costa Rica, Ecuador, France, Iceland, Ireland, Morocco, Netherlands, Panama, Peru, Spain

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Shane’s full profile.

My Groups