Shawn Walton's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 6 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Shawn’s full profile.

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English
  • 51, Male
  • Member since 2016
  • Ph.D. Student
  • Graduate Education
  • From USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

First, I’m an African 🇸🇩 Born in the 🇺🇸 America of Louisiana Cajun/Creole and Gullah/Geechee 🇺🇸 Mende/Krio 🇸🇱 Balanta/Kriol 🇬🇼 Criolo/Kriolu 🇨🇻 descent, looking for friendships, professional connections, networking opportunities, relocation and travel companions. My goal is to meet like-minded individuals to have intellectual conversations and enjoy exploring the world. My motivation to travel is making countless friends globally. One of my many satisfying pleasures in life is having the opportunity to travel the world and enjoy the enriching cultural and social experiences of traveling and living abroad. By making friends and connecting with others via Couchsurfing, this will give me the opportunity to network with other like-minded individuals and building bridges of communication with the world. I am deeply committed to learning about other cultures and languages. Finally, I believe cultural sharing leads to cultural understanding. If you have questions, please feel free to ask. My goal for the rest of 2020 and 2021 is to visit my African ancestral homelands; the Sudan, Sierra Leone, Guinea Bissau (Bijagós Islands) and Cabo Verde.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Looking to connect with other travelers both domestic and abroad, as well as make lifelong friendships.

Interests

  • photography
  • music
  • catholic
  • history
  • language exchange
  • beaches
  • museums
  • meeting new people
  • clubs
  • making friends
  • relationships
  • dating
  • lgbt friendly
  • food lover

Music, Movies, and Books

American History, Biographies of American Presidents, Political Figures, African American and African Leaders. Also, the End of the Affair by Graham Greene and the English Patient by Michael Ondaatje. I enjoy all kinds of music with the exception of country music.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I am a proud AmeriCorps Alumni. https://www.nationalservice.gov/programs/americorps

Teach, Learn, Share

I’m always willing to teach the English language, share about my culture, as well as learn others.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Just please feel free to ask me anything and I’ll glad share with you. I’m a practicing Catholic, and yes it’s important.

Countries I’ve Visited

Aruba, Brazil, Canada, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Egypt, El Salvador, Ethiopia, France, Gibraltar, Guatemala, Mexico, Morocco, Panama, Portugal, Sierra Leone, Spain, United Kingdom

Countries I’ve Lived In

Brazil, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Shawn’s full profile.

My Groups