Siddharth Mohan's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 92% response rate
  • Last login about 10 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Siddharth’s full profile.

Overview

  • 37 references 24 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Hindi; learning French
  • 25, Male
  • Member since 2017
  • Student
  • B.E. Computer Science
  • From Goa, India
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

***---GOAL---***

To look back at life with no regrets. I don't want to ever think what if I did that or what something would have felt like. Embrace every opportunity and live through each experience like no other.

***---ABOUT ME---***

Hello! I'm a graduate student doing my Master's in Computer Science at UWM. I get excited about so many different things - travelling, algorithms, music, dogs, books, badminton, squash, philosophical talks, memes( Memes are a life saver sometimes! ). I enjoy travelling so much because of the great experiences I've had over the last 2 years of travelling and meeting people. I play guitar occasionally and listen to music almost every time. The time doesn't matter. For me, music is just a big door opening into the singer's heart/ thoughts and emotions.

I love my friends like family. I'm so fortunate to have such great friends who I can always depend on. And I love to make new friends whenever I get the opportunity to do so. Travelling has given me plenty such opportunities and it's crazy to believe that I have friends in so many parts of the world already.

I also love talking and sharing my experiences with others. That said, I'm a great listener too and I keenly listen to people's advices, experiences and thoughts when they share them( especially over a drink :) ) You can wake me up at 2 AM and you will find me talking about life and random philosophical thoughts.

If I'm angry or moody or sad, seeing a dog removes all that negativity from me. I enjoy cuddling my dogs and every other dog I find on the street.

And finally, sports! I play all racquet sports( badminton, squash, tennis and table-tennis) and it would be great if we could play some given the opportunity. Or how about some beer pong instead? :D

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

To find a cosy bed to sleep while travelling. Just kidding :P I have always enjoyed meeting new people and sharing my life, culture and experiences with them. I also like listening and getting to know about your experiences. Couchsurfing is such a great platform that allows one to stay at a local's place. No better way to explore a place than staying with a local!

I have also opened my house for other couchsurfers because I believe in the core principle behind this application. For fellow surfers, if you only need a place to sleep and use the WiFi password, please look elsewhere. I genuinely try to get to know my hosts/surfers and share a meal or two.

Interests

Cooking, hiking, adventures, making new friends, sketching, coding

  • dogs
  • cooking
  • beer
  • partying
  • reading
  • sports
  • badminton
  • history
  • hitchhiking
  • squash
  • food
  • travelling
  • exploring
  • gym

Music, Movies, and Books

***---Music---***
I listen to so many genres of music and I follow all the big reality singing competitions like The Voice, X Factor and American Idol.
Country, Pop, Rock, Jazz, actually everything other than Metal.
When I feel sad or depressed, country songs just make me smile. When I'm cooking, Amy Winehouse is always singing beside me. And when I'm at the gym, it's the current top hits playing.

***---Movies---***
I've watched so many movies all my life. It's so hard to pick my favourite ones( It's Avatar actually ). But it's quite easy to list down the genres of movies I love- Thriller, Horror( Damn, YES! ), Fantasy and sometimes when my heart wants it, some Romance( Yes, I cried in the Notebook and The Titanic :( ).

***---Books---***
Authors - Dan Brown, Jeffrey Archer, Paulo Coelho, Khaled Hosseni
I also like reading books on dogs and their owners.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I hiked to a maximum height of 13000 ft in freezing cold temperatures, in blizzards, knee-deep snow and over a period of 7 days to stare at the highest peak in India. The Himalayas was a life changing experience for me as I understood I could be in my company and enjoy every moment of it.

Another amazing thing I've seen is Dawn breaking over the Angkor Wat. Just a magical experience.

Teach, Learn, Share

I could definitely teach some skills in badminton, or the correct posture for doing deadlifts, or teach you some Indian cooking.
I want to learn about your lifestyle, your inspirations and your travel experiences.
And I can share with you all the random life advices I've got from my crazy friends and especially my Dad.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I don't see couchsurfing as a free application for freeloading at someome else's place. Also I don't believe couchsurfing is free owing to the amount of time and effort it takes to find a host. I Can teach/discuss cuisines, sports, music. I absolutely love cooking and I am more than happy to cook a meal or two for my hosts( Indian cuisine is simply amazing! ). I am also down to hit the clubs 24*7. Lastly, a big wide smile :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, Belgium, Cambodia, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Hungary, India, Italy, Netherlands, Philippines, Slovakia, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

India, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Siddharth’s full profile.