Romain's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 13 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Romain’s full profile.

Overview

  • 43 references 39 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French, Portuguese, Spanish; learning Italian, Russian, Serbo-Croatian
  • 36, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Former molecular biology technician
  • No education listed
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION
- I don't have chip on my phone so my access to internet is very random but I do my best to get wifi wherever I can -

Hitchhiking my way up to Norway, wandering in the present time between swamps and the Baltic sea.
No real plan, no real timeline.

ABOUT ME

Old fashion traveller, long term tourist, curious about the world, in love with all means of transport (though the one of others remain my favorite), being on the road fills up my tank.

I like walking, long and far away hikes, riding a bike, putting a "." at the end of every sentence, lame jokes, playing clarinet, cow-boy camping under many many stars, playing clarinet, hitch-hiking, listening to live music, hitch-hiking, philosophying about life, universe and everything around a beer (or three), sewing my own gear, noodles with a lot of cheese, ...

PHILOSOPHY

Learned in Amazonia : TIENES QUE PODER !
Learned on the road : Pay it forward.
Learned with experience : Wine makes you talkative but doesn't ease your speech.

"It is necessary to make the difference between keeping your reason and keeping your reason for living."
Romain GARY.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING
Spreading the good vibe all over the world (yeah, nothing but that), sharing my knowledge about places I've been, people I've met.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

Some, mostly in South America.
Regarding where I live (when not travelling), I host mainly through other platforms.
To the question "Why me", I would answer "Why not ?" It is the point of travelling to meet random and different human beings.

Interests

Music (I play clarinet and yes, it travels with me - edit 2023 : to travel lighter I swapped for a Xaphoon but I don't take the responsability yet 😅) and litterature, a lot, I have a passion for words.
Then history, wood working, sciences, economy, house maintainance, sociology, antropology, wine, french fries, your story, ... the list is looong!

  • writing
  • diy
  • cooking
  • wine
  • traveling
  • music
  • live music
  • hiking
  • sailing
  • history
  • science
  • hitchhiking
  • nature
  • trekking
  • wines
  • bike riding
  • busking
  • bike touring
  • hitch-hiking
  • brass bands

Music, Movies, and Books

Wow... almost all the music with lyrics I listen to is in french so it won't help... apart from that any well writtencomposed song, New Orleans and gypsy jazz, cumbia, brazilian music, soul & funk music, brass bands, ... if there is instruments and some harmony I should like it, if there is an accordion, it's even better.
Same thing for writers, mainly french autors from 19-20th century, Jack Kerouac talks to me too. Slowly starting to read books in english and spanish to extend my library.
I don't watch a lot of movies, I really liked Fight club but then I discovered it is beforehand a book...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

So far I hitch-hiked more than 60 000km over 25 coutries... I do did some. I also wrote a book about a part of it.

Teach, Learn, Share

Spend my whole time doing one of those three things, when it's not the three at the same time... always ready to teach something, always open to a good advice.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Some french/english/spanish/portugese, travel tips, sewing a hem, changing a flat tire, ... also I'm not a chef but I like to cook, people are still alive to testify.

I spend a lot of time in the open air, so when I stay somewhere it is as much to rest (what a strange feeling to just enjoying having walls around you haha) as to get to know my hosts and the city-country they live in, learn about the region I'm travelling through... and for some countries enjoying english speakers and not struggling with the local languages !

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Kosovo, Latvia, Lithuania, Macedonia, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Norway, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Scotland, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Ukraine

Countries I’ve Lived In

France

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Romain’s full profile.

My Groups