Silke_in_Overijssel's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Wants to Meet Up

  • Last login about 1 year ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Silke_in_Overijssel’s full profile.

Overview

  • 6 references 4 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English, German, Spanish, Swedish; learning Russian, Turkish
  • 48, Female
  • Member since 2008
  • Online Language Teacher @ https://www.italki.com/i/B6bAFa
  • Postgraduate
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Going Dutch!

ABOUT ME

Hello everybody,

My name is Silke. I'm a friendly, open-minded couchsurfer. I like to laugh, cook and bake, discover new places in Amsterdam, Haarlem and surroundings like bars, museums etc. with travellers who are coming here and I like to go on excursions to see interesting places in the Netherlands and get familiar with the Dutch culture. I also play the guitar and like to sing and dance.

I live in Deventer where I work as a freelance translator, interpreter and online language teacher. Feel free to visit my website: http://www.naturalunderstanding.nl.

Before coming to the Netherlands I lived in Spain. I stayed for 5 years in Gran Canaria where I also had great couchsurfing experience, like meetups, hiking and hosting.
When I came here by car all the way from Gran Canaria I had a wonderful couchsurfing experience. After just putting an ad here with my itinerary from Huelva to Haarlem several couchsurfers offered me a place to stay. After passing the first 2 days in the ferry from Las Palmas to Huelva I stayed with several couchsurfers on my one-week-trip through Europe. It was easy to come here and I saw every day a new place and met interesting new people. I drove 2400km and stayed with couchsurfers in Spain, France and Belgium.

I hope to be able to travel to Turkey soon, where I would like to visit Istanbul, Pamukkale and Cappadocia. Hopefully I find some couchsurfers there who can show me around. That would be nice. Another travel destination I wish to go to is Peru and climb the Machu Picchu.

Before I also lived in Ireland (1998-1999), Belgium (2002-2003) and of course Germany, where I'm originally from.

Feel free to write to me in English, German, Spanish, Dutch or Swedish.

Cheers!

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

To see the world and meet interesting people from all over the world. It is also a good possibility to practise different languages.

Interests

languages, travelling, playing the guitar, tango, flamenco, belly dance, snorkeling, hiking, ice skating, going out to bars/restaurants, meeting people, nature, cooking, museums and many things more

  • culture
  • singing
  • dancing
  • flamenco
  • tango
  • cooking
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • guitar
  • hiking
  • snorkeling
  • teaching
  • freelancing
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

Very different music, for example Estas Tonne, Lindsey Stirling, Schiller, Juli.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I currently live in the 5th country.
Ireland (1 year)
Belgium (4 month)
Spain (in total more than 6 years)
the Netherlans (since 1/2014... open end)
Germany (the rest of the time) ;-)

Teach, Learn, Share

I can show you around and we can share travel experience, practise languages, visit places together.

What I Can Share with Hosts

A couch, show couchsurfers around Deventer, go on an excursion, cooking together, having a good chat, playing the guitar and sing together.

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Belgium, Belize, Czech Republic, England, France, Germany, Guatemala, Honduras, Ireland, Mexico, Netherlands, Poland, Russian Federation, Scotland, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, United States, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium, Germany, Ireland, Netherlands, Spain

Join Couchsurfing to see Silke_in_Overijssel’s full profile.

My Groups