Simon Dabbicco's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Simon’s full profile.


  • 32 references 16 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Italian; learning English, French, German, Spanish
  • 36, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • Traveller, Student, Musician, Volunteer
  • Studies in Literature, Latin, ancient Greek, artistic dis...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I am a guy from the north-west of Italy.

I can't host at the moment as I don't have my own home.

More personal information:

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I couchsurfed several times and I really enjoyed the experience with my hosts!
They were all lovely people. I also hosted at my parents's place more than a couple of times. A rewarding experience for me, my parents, and our international guests.


I'm a dreamer, low-budget traveller, I enjoy hitch-hiking and living new adventures. I travel to meet local people, to embrace their cultures, visions and lifestyle.

My way of travelling is "voluntouring": basically I help people in need. In exchange, they give me food, accommodation and, if possible, we have an exchange of knowledge too.

I used to write and report for a travelling blog: (Italian only)

I am currently working on - an announcement website where people can exchange hospitality, volunteer opportunities and alternative lifestyles proposals.

his is my FB profile: Simon Dabbicco

  • street art
  • vegetarian
  • vegan
  • running
  • dumpster diving
  • music
  • anthropology
  • astronomy
  • science
  • hitchhiking
  • volunteering
  • budget travel
  • wwoof
  • permaculture
  • intentional communities
  • freegan
  • playing music
  • busking
  • ecovillages
  • workaway
  • permacultura
  • intentional community
  • eco-village
  • wwoofing
  • hitchhikers
  • off the grid
  • living without money
  • recording
  • slow travel
  • ted talks
  • recording music
  • zeitgeist
  • eco-villages
  • travelling with no money
  • venus project
  • playing music in the street
  • voluntouring
  • nomad base

Music, Movies, and Books

I like music and I used to play in different bands. I used to play the Electric Bass and the piano. I also play Guitars and Ukulele. I like busking in the street with friends.

I have been composing hundreds of melodies and songs, though I quit (for now)


3) Youtube music page:


I like watching all the movies in the original language.
I used to have a weird passion for ZOMBIE movies but also anything related to humour and adventures (Indiana Jones, Star Trek, etc.)

Recent movies I enjoyed:
Contact , Captain Fantastic, Jeux d'enfants, Intouchables, Il Postino.

A good and easy book I suggest you to read is Momo by Michael Ende.
It inspired me a lot when I was a child.

Last English books I read and enjoyed:
The selfish gene - by Dawkins,
Our species - M. Harris.
Guns, Germs and Steel - J. Diamond.
Short History of Private life - Bill Bryson
Sapiens - Yuval Noah Harari

I enjoy classics, jazz, heavy metal, rock and some electronics.
Tchaikowsky, Debussy, Brahms and Strauss are my favorite classical composer.
If it comes to Opera, Puccini is my choice.

I have hundreds of favorite rock band and artists but maybe I will tell you in person.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

In chronological order:

- Played in a Rugby Team
- Been a Red Cross volunteer
- Played on stage with different music bands.
- Composed music
- Quit University & Job
- Hitchhiked 1000 km alone in 2 days and 1 night
- Travelled in Europe for 3 months without money
- Travelled in Italy for 8 months spending an average of 100 euro per month
- Founded an online Slow Travel Magazine (
- Founded a web volunteering project (
- Had a Ted Talk speech about travelling with no money -
- Busked in the street
- Created a docu-film about slow travel (in Italian) -
- Been on television and newspaper -
- Walked 100 km for 1 week
- Run 21 km without stopping.
- Busking in 2019 in Corsica and Sardinia island

A lot of other travelling discoveries.

Teach, Learn, Share

Bits of knowledge about.

-Social Design

What I Can Share with Hosts

Hopefully a lot of laughs. :)

Countries I’ve Visited

Croatia, England, France, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Portugal, Scotland, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, Wales

Countries I’ve Lived In

England, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Scotland, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland

Old School Badges

  • 3 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Simon’s full profile.

My Groups