Travis Clark's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address Verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 30 minutes ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Travis’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 13 References 5 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning German, Yue (Cantonese)
  • 28, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • English Teacher
  • Bachelor of Arts
  • From Puyallup, WA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Teaching English to the world

ABOUT ME

I enjoy teaching and learning. This, and itchy feet, has taken me to many interesting places around the globe. The last few years I’ve been teaching overseas while trying to enjoy the experience by taking advantage of every opportunity. Next I'll be going to Germany where Ill continue learning German. While living in Deutschland I hope to become fluent in both the language and the culture. As for settling down - I believe I'm what the Chinese call a "bird without feet."

Travel blog: http://travstravels.com/
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/sinkorswim3706

PHILOSOPHY

Low expectations make for good experiences. You can get used to anything - its about the place not the luxuries. Make an effort, not an excuse. If you enjoy what you do, you never work a day in your life. Be happy with what you have and you'll never want for anything. Waste not, want not, etc, etc...

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Organizing and participating in local activities.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've surfed with a few generous people in Australia, NZ and Hong Kong and organized/joined a few outings and meetups with fellow CSers.

Interests

Travel, camping, hiking, technology, extreme sports and eating good food.

  • writing
  • dining
  • cooking
  • boating
  • technology
  • traveling
  • blogging
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • camping
  • scuba diving
  • sports
  • paragliding
  • extreme sports

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Backpacking/camping around New Zealand on a motorcycle.

Teach, Learn, Share

Avoid general concepts and look for the reality in everything. Be calm and allow your brain to work through information. Einstein once said "It's not that I'm so smart, it's just that I stay with problems longer."

What I Can Share with Hosts

Good conversation is a plus. If time allows, some kind of adventure or just a walk around town is always nice. Always happy to share the chores and cook.

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, China, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Ireland, Netherlands, Singapore, Spain, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Hong Kong, New Zealand, Spain, United States

Old School Badges

  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Travis’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups