Hans van Dam

Macharaviaya, Andalusia, Spain

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 27 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Hans van’s full profile. It’s free!


  • Living in rural Spain, 35km from Malaga
  • OK
  • From Holland, Brabant
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

During winter I will convert a van to campervan. In this process you are welcome to participate and later travel with me.
You will have to work on the finca where I live and in the free time help me on this private project.

Read about it on http://vandam.dk
From May 2016 I will be travelling. In my van there is room for one person more. So, if you are interested to stay with me, it will be 'there were I am' :)
How long you stay is totally depending on how we get along. Might be forever ;)


Reduce, Reuse, Recycle


Active, Caring, Curious, Gentle, Friendly, Positive, Living free and uncomplicated an almost vegan, at least mostly vegetarian, life. I appreciate you to feel at home and behave like you are used to, so do I.


You can, until you find out you can't.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


Hosting many travelers, using different ways of transport. Very much like biking, as I did that my selve.
From now on campering in Europe.


After being a host for many, we had our own CS experience in summer 2009, on a bike trip in Holland.

Hosted several with a great feeling. I think CS (and other hospitality websites) is one of the greatest projects in the world. Had only very positive experiences.

Next to couchsurfing I have had a lot of people volunteering at my place (a pancake house in Denmark) via WorkAway and HelpX.

If you want stay for a longer period, you can do so via that system. I often need help to run my projects.


My children (the way they grow up and develop)
Campering (both short and longer trips)
Sailing (although I do not have my own boat anymore)
People (that I share things with, talk with)

Music, Movies, and Books

Classical, Ethnic, World, New Age, Jazz, New Orleans
Well written romans, detectives, travel stories.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Traveled in many countries, partly with my (former) sailing boat.
Crossing from Cameroon to Brasil in 28 days.

Teach, Learn, Share

I like to share my world with other people. Local and international. To learn from their experience and to give them my experience.

Countries I’ve Visited

Brazil, Cameroon, France, Senegal, Spain, Sweden, Turkey

Countries I’ve Lived In

Denmark, Netherlands, Spain

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    8 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Hans van’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups