Shara Thompson's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login almost 3 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Shara’s full profile.

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English
  • 32, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • Bartender
  • South Dakota State University
  • From USA
  • Profile 75% complete

About Me

Hi! Let me introduce myself very briefly! I am Shara (SHARE-A) a social yet driven, kind hearted yet independent, adventurous yet cautious girl from South Dakota. Let's adventure and try new things! I am currently spending the summer traveling in my '82 Dodge Conversion Van and looking to find some freedom as well as cultural experience. My best friend, travel companion, and confidant is a Collie/Shepard mix named "Chunk" who is (usually) traveling with me full time.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

Why am I couchsurfing? Let me count the ways! Traveling in a van lends itself with many obstacles. I will be looking to the couchsurfing community not only for networking, meeting new people, and experiencing new things, but also things like occasional showers, parking spaces, travel tips, and localized information. I just really hope to share my love of life, travel, and adventure with other like minded individuals and learn as much as I can along the way! Let's share a beer, a coffee, or a hike!

Interests

I spend most all of my time with my pooch, Chunk. Otherwise I'm working behind a bar spinning up some stiff South Dakota cocktails, or daydreaming about life changing adventures. I love sports, having played softball and track & field in college and am also the (self proclaimed) #1 hockey fan in South Dakota! I also love horseback riding and anything outdoors. Fishing, hunting, hiking, backpacking, traveling, exploring...count me in!

  • cocktails
  • traveling
  • outdoor activities
  • equestrian
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • sports
  • track and field
  • softball

Music, Movies, and Books

Right now you can probably find me listening to Kasey Musgraves, Casey Donahew Band, Cody Jinks, Chris Stapleton, Chris LeDoux, Trampled By Turtles, Mumford & Sons, Lumaneers, Eagles, Beatles....
The books you will find in my van include Animal Farm, Atlas Shrugged, some C.S. Lewis, a collection of Fairy Tales from the Brothers Grimm, and many more... I am kind of a used book store addict. My favorite book of all time... The Alchemist!
My favorite movie.... Out Cold, Animal House, Revenge of the Nerds, Old School, Tommy Boy, The Way, Harry Potter...

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

There are a lot of things that take my breath away, like witnessing candid kindness, or natural beauty. I find the world and people amazing, finding myself amazing is another story. If I had to pick something amazing that I have done... I pick the trips with my college track or softball teams. Looking back at those opportunities I was blessed with is really humbling and rewarding ... College sports came to end, but the love of travel, hard work, and independence stuck.

Teach, Learn, Share

I hope to be able to teach my friends and family that there is kindness in the world. I hope to be able to have knowledge to contribute to others but hope to learn just as much.

I hope to learn as much as I can about travel, conservation, politics, networking, people, culture, adventure, technology, books, literature.... the list is endless!

I hope to share my experiences and adventures with the world. I am beginning my journey on becoming more proficient with social media and internet networking and plan to write a blog. I hope to share bits and pieces of my life with the whole world in order to gain web design and social media experience which will align with my future career goals of online marketing.

What I Can Share with Hosts

I can share the love of my fluffy talented dog Chunk. I can share knowledge and experiences from school, work, travel, van living, hunting, fishing, and hiking. I have a library of books at all times and would love a great literature conversation and or book trade. I am a well fed woman who knows her way around the kitchen and can cook any number of midwestern inspired dishes. I have lots of mis-adventures and stories to share. I would love to share a laugh!

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Shara’s full profile.

My Groups