sonia_paola's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login about 15 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see sonia_paola’s full profile.

Overview

  • 129 references 99 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French; learning Italian, Spanish, Wolof
  • 49, Female
  • Member since 2010
  • Various, including rabble rousing on behalf of the planet
  • Too much of that, probably.
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Hey everybody: Please *read* all the info in my profile (or anybody's profile) before writing, noting especially the "Additional Info" stuff under "My Home". This is important!

I have worked mostly in the sustainability field and enjoy being outdoors. Right now I’m involved with a Buddhist meditation center. Love learning from people who know what they're talking about. Love being peaceful and observant. Don't care whether I see the big tourist attractions. Just want to experience places for what they are, and know where I was when I leave.

Where you might find me: Wandering in a forest (best bet), shopping at a farmers market, rooting around in a pile of trash, chatting with neighborhood birds and dogs, scarfing a brew at the local pub, careening around town on my bike, lurking in places of higher learning.

Favorite tree: American beech
Favorite bird: Cedar waxwing
Favorite bird song: Wood thrush
Favorite dumb web site: dogeweather.com

PHILOSOPHY

We shall never achieve harmony with the land, anymore than we shall achieve absolute justice or liberty for people. In these higher aspirations the important thing is not to achieve but to strive. - Aldo Leopold

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

I have offered my home in Ohio, New York and most recently North Carolina. I have also endeared myself to hosts in other places by being an extremely responsible and respectful guest. I spent 9 months in 2011 traveling around the world and met a ton of extraordinary CSers. I have been a couchsurfing zealot ever since.

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

How great is this community? I find myself telling people about it all the time now. As guests and hosts it is truly rewarding.

I traveled around the world for about a year in India, SE Asia, Hong Kong, Japan, Europe, the Mid East and West Africa.

I have really enjoyed hosting guests at my home -- it feels good to return all the good karma from the surfing adventures.

I almost love browsing the CS profiles as much as I enjoy the actual hosting/guesting experience. Great way to learn about a place -- through some of its residents.

Interests

Ecology, sustainable local communities, meditation, cooking, handicrafts, turning "junk" into beautiful and functional things, human and non-human creatures, languages, universities, outdoor adventures, making myself useful to others.

  • dogs
  • birds
  • writing
  • cooking
  • meditation
  • walking
  • pub crawls
  • shopping
  • traveling
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • surfing
  • ecology
  • economics
  • languages
  • buddhism

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I've seen more amazing things than anyone could reasonably ask to in a lifetime. Part of it is keeping your eyes open. The other part is being prepared to be amazed.

Countries I’ve Visited

Antigua and Barbuda, Belgium, Brazil, Cambodia, Costa Rica, Czech Republic, Egypt, Finland, France, Greece, Guadeloupe, Hungary, India, Israel, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Mali, Mexico, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Singapore, South Africa, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, Uganda, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, Virgin Islands, U.S.

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Senegal, United States

Old School Badges

  • 2 Vouches
  • Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see sonia_paola’s full profile.

My Groups