Sophia's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID verified
  • Address Verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 5 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sophia’s full profile.

Overview

  • 12 references 7 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in Dutch, English, German; learning French, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish
  • 29, Female
  • Member since 2013
  • Software Consultant
  • MSc Geography
  • From Innsbruck, Tyrol, Austria
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I am an open-minded geographer who loves traveling.
I am part of the Pangaea Young Explorers Program and Pangaea Project (www.pangaeaproject.org). Through this environmental project, I visited many new places, got to know the best people ever, learned loads and got motivated to act for the environment myself.
I am also an alumni of the European Geography Association (EGEA, www.egea.eu) and the Climate-KIC InnoSpace Journey 2018.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I believe that couchsurfing is great to connect with local people, to learn about the culture in your host country and to travel cheaply too.
I had my first couchsurfing experiences in Utrecht and liked it very much! Before that, I slept on many couches of my friends and hosted some as well. I always had positive experiences and never faced any problems.

Interests

Traveling, caring for the environment, football, being outside, photography, geography,...

  • culture
  • photography
  • environment
  • traveling
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • camping
  • rock climbing
  • soccer
  • geography
  • languages
  • museums

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

One? I can't decide!
- visiting a morning prayer in a Buddhist monastery in Ladakh, India
- paragliding in Switzerland
- hiking through sand dunes on Texel in the Netherlands
- sailing on Pangaea into the harbor of Monaco
- standing at the edge of the Grand Canyon in the USA
- living with a Swedish family for one week
- meeting Jane Goodall in person at age 12
- camping trip through middle Sweden
- joining dogsledding expeditions in Russia
- swimming from Brazil to Bolivia

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach you tips and tricks of Microsoft Word and Adobe Lightroom, help you with learning German and how to make knots that you need for climbing.
I'm always happy to have conversations in Dutch, I want to keep learning Brazilian Portuguese and Russian, know some words of every other language and whatever you can teach me that I am able to learn.

What I Can Share with Hosts

My knowledge about my city, time, food, good talks.

Countries I’ve Visited

Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, France, Germany, India, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Lithuania, Monaco, Netherlands, Poland, Russian Federation, Slovakia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Ukraine, United Kingdom, United States, Vatican City State

Countries I’ve Lived In

Austria, Netherlands

Join Couchsurfing to see Sophia’s full profile.

My Groups