Sophie Zimmel

Vienna, Vienna, Austria

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • 99% response rate
  • Last login about 2 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sophie’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 41 References 25
  • Fluent in English, German; learning Spanish
  • 22, Female
  • Member since 2011
  • Marketing and sales student
  • No education listed
  • From Vienna, Vienna, Austria
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I am tall (first thing you will notice about me), optimistic and relaxed but also adventurous and fun-loving. I love travelling, it's actually quite hard for me to stay at one place for too long without planning the next trip..
I lived in the San Francisco Bay Area, worked as an Au Pair for a year, and fell in love with the city and people there! I got to travel through the US for 2 months, then I spent 2 months volunteering in Buenos Aires, another city I learned to love.
I've had many ridiculous jobs such as party-sailing-boat cook, sleeping bag tester, several promotion jobs (chocolate, cheese, cat food), fundraising in Germany, instructor for Kodak printers... until I started studying Marketing a while ago.
I spent one semester in Auckland as an exchange student and travelled through NZ, Australia and South East Asia with my boyfriend Stephen.
So, now we live in Vienna and I enjoy living here.. I like the architecture, food, and all the events and things to do, such as theaters, open-air events, markets, lakes, weekend trips..

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

I enjoy couchsurfing a lot, in the beginning I found it a bit awkward to enter into some strangers home (and life) but it is very interesting and the best way of travelling.

If you write me a request please answer this question, so I know you've taken some time to read about me: "What is the funniest place you've ever had beer/wine (if you don't drink then Idk had a glass of milk?) at?"

So far I couchsurfed in London, Paris, San Francisco, Honolulu, Maui, Seattle, Las Vegas, New Orleans, Miami, Baltimore, New York, Mar del Plata, Lisbon, Munich, Christchurch, Auckland, Breda, Tokyo, Kyoto and Hiroshima. I have hosted people from Germany, Switzerland, France, and Australia. I am still good friends with almost everyone I've met through cs.

Interests

Travelling (how original), arts, music, festivals, food, riding, dancing, markets, ballet, movies, theatres, exploring cities, swimming, surfing, cooking, alpine skiing, hiking, reading, tennis, yoga, adventure sports...
I love to challenge myself and tend to try out new things.

Music, Movies, and Books

I like different genres depending on my mood and the situation, from dnb to classical music. I love listening to new songs too.
Some of my favourite bands are: The Killers, Milky Chance, Kodaline, Coldplay, Portugal.The Man, Future Islands, Mumford and Sons, The Black Keys, Noah and the Whale, Kings of Leon, Mando Diao, Of Monsters and Men, Two Door Cinema Club, Imagine Dragons, Aurora, Franz Ferdinand, The Melodic, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Angus & Julia Stone, Agnes Obel, Beatrice Eli, Clueso...

I love movies (independent and mainstream) and books (any book that when you start reading, you don't want to put down again).

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Skydived in hawaii, petted a tiger cub and a grown lion, snorkelled with turtles and at the great barrier reef, watched the sunrise from the top of a volcano, cliff diving, Safari in Kenya, hitchhiked all over New Zealand, hot water beach, Folsom street fair/Bay to Breakers and other weird festivals in San Francisco, rooftop party in New York on NYE, at the edge of the Grand Canyon/Niagara Falls, met the band members of Two Door Cinema Club in a bar, swam with dolphins, Oktoberfest in Munich, hitchhiked on the back of a pickup truck in Maui, backpacked through South East Asia, won a vespa at some lottery game :)
I enjoy the "small" breathtaking moments in life like standing on the beach at night and looking into the ocean (and then maybe go skinny dipping).

Teach, Learn, Share

I enjoy learning about other cultures: food (especially the food :) ), languages, architecture, and music.. And I can learn you some (useful or not so useful) german words if you are interested...

What I Can Share with Hosts

I am respectful, honest, interested in learning new things, love meeting people, would enjoy cooking together, have some drinks, watch a movie together...

Countries I’ve Visited

Argentina, Australia, Belgium, Cambodia, Croatia, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Japan, Kenya, Mexico, Morocco, Netherlands, New Zealand, Poland, Portugal, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey, United Kingdom, United States, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Argentina, Austria, Germany, New Zealand, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    2 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see Sophie’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups