Chalu Kim's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login 11 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Chalu’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 0 references
  • Fluent in English, Korean; learning Chinese (Simplified), French, Hindi, Nepali, Spanish, Urdu
  • 34, Male
  • Member since 2011
  • Computer Programmer and Tech support
  • University Graduate
  • From Seoul Korea
  • Profile 75% complete

About Me

Open, fun,outdoor, goofy.

I grew up in Seoul, Korea and moved to the US when I was a teen. I worked and traveled but seeing new places has been a priority. I live in New York and travel half of every year. It has been amazing to meet new people and see new places.

I have been a meditator many years and coach / share Vipassana meditation practice with others.

I travel and live outdoor life especially rock climbing and surfing at the moment. I have been skiing all over. I love listening new music and currently into West African music.

PHILOSOPHY

Do it yourself, meet people, build friendship, invest in people, be a perfect optimist. I have been working with my hands; renovating apartments, cooking, helping friends start business, sharing surf boards. I love building and designing.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

None so far. But I am excited about it.

Interests

Rock climbing
Yoga
Surfing
Mindful Meditation Vipassana
Backcountry skiing
Building and fixing house
Shaping surfboard

  • cooking
  • baking
  • yoga
  • marathon
  • coach
  • meditation
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • investing
  • music
  • outdoor activities
  • kayaking
  • surfing
  • skiing
  • rock climbing
  • business
  • religion
  • mountains

Music, Movies, and Books

I love listening to any local bands good or bad; West African, Jazz, contemporary classical music.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

I climb rock all over. I trekked in the Himalayas. I like remote areas in China, India and Tibet. I rode an old motorcycle across India from the sea to the Himalayas.I ran a New York marathon.

Teach, Learn, Share

I can teach rock climbing. I can teach meditation.

I have been an apprentice monk in Thailand and Nepal and I have been an ordained sufi. I read many interesting traditions. I call myself a spirituality shopper. I like learning about how different cultures imagine.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Cooking,
cleaning,
meditation,
climbing,
surfing,
skiing,
baking bread
making kimchi

Countries I’ve Visited

Afghanistan, Austria, Bulgaria, Cambodia, England, France, Germany, Japan, Mexico, Pakistan, Peru, Slovenia, Switzerland, Thailand, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Belgium, China, India, South Korea, United States

Join Couchsurfing to see Chalu’s full profile. It’s free!