SPROUT's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 11 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see SPROUT’s full profile.

Overview

  • 102 references 75 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Chinese, French, Spanish
  • 45, Female
  • Member since 2005
  • No occupation listed
  • university
  • From Portland, Or. Now permanently settled in the UK
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Building a life that combines my interests, ethics, and desire to look after myself, others, and our world.

ABOUT ME

What's the deal with people saying I said I was shy?!!

openminded, laidback, up for anything (mostly), housebroken, very small- can sleep anywhere, dangerous if cornered (or is that badgers?)

Hosts in Glasgow can get a LOT of requests, btw, so it's a good idea if you want to tell me a little bit about who you are and what you're doing, also to mention something so that I can see you have read some of my profile:)

PHILOSOPHY

Don't be a dick.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

Hosting, surfing, going to events:)

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

I've hosted a lot of people over the years, out of which I've made more than a few real friends, met countless interesting people, and had only a handful of mildly unpleasant experiences.

I've also been shown a lot of hospitality by some amazing people, in the UK and abroad, some of whom shared their family live with me, as well as their cities, for which I'm very grateful.

Interests

growing food, travel, the outdoors; (cycling, hillwalking, kayaking, caving, skiing...), live music, (some) clubs, unashamedly making an ass of myself on the dancefloor or anywhere else, knitting, motorbikes, food, books, yoga, fitness, guitar, creatures, history, stuff... As you can see, I'm interested in languages, but I'm ashamed to say I haven't got past beginner stage in any yet.

  • writing
  • books
  • dining
  • cooking
  • fitness
  • yoga
  • clubbing
  • gardening
  • traveling
  • knitting
  • music
  • live music
  • guitar
  • outdoor activities
  • cycling
  • kayaking
  • spelunking
  • skiing
  • history
  • sustainable living
  • alternative living

Music, Movies, and Books

Yes. Rock (60's and 70's, alternative/indie), classical, folk, world, traditional, and I've learned to enjoy what I believe to be some form of house music when I'm out dancing, although I'm not sure which exactly, due to me being a. very old and terribly uncool, and b. very drunk most of the time I go out dancing. Some of my all-time faves are still Pink Floyd, the Beatles, Bob Dylan, Velvet Underground ect.(not original, I know).
I love books and I'll read most things- novels, history, guidebooks (travelporn), cookbooks (foodporn), repair manuals, shampoo bottles... I like books that make me think, strange and original books, books that give me an insight into other peoples minds and lives, funny books, my old childhood favourites, and plain old escapist trash. But nothing beats a well-written shampoo bottle.
I have no idea why I've just gone into that much depth, as only a real saddo is going to read it all... Go get a life, saddo! Geez.

Teach, Learn, Share

Please, teach me anything! If you can help with language, show me how to cook something, introduce me to something new; fantastic. I have a sewing machine and am keen to learn sewing.
I can teach something about gardening/permaculture, massage,DIY, food preservation, maybe some foraging, guitar basics...
Happy to share my love of the outdoors if you fancy walking, camping, etc.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Cooking, laughs, help around the house.

Countries I’ve Visited

Austria, China, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Mexico, Netherlands, Poland, Spain

Countries I’ve Lived In

United Kingdom, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    20 Vouches

Join Couchsurfing to see SPROUT’s full profile.

My Groups