Stephan Balsel's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Maybe Accepting Guests

  • Last login 26 days ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Stephan’s full profile.

Overview

  • 44 references 27 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, German, Spanish; learning Italian
  • 48, Male
  • Member since 2009
  • german teacher, social money, time banker, informationen ...
  • Environmental engineering, sustainability, transition, dr...
  • From Berlin, Berlin, Germany
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Getting to know Ferrara and learning Italian.

to get to know people, which make small o big changes in their life to live according to their values --> empowerment
conocer a personas que hacen grandes o pequeños cambios en su vida--> empoderamiento

ABOUT ME (ENGLISH)

i dont have a tv since march 2010.
person which is still young at heart. Loves simple life and freedom.

i did a social experiment: two years (july 2014 -september 2016 without paying rent or mortgage in euros , i only offered services (mostly linguistic type but as well agricultural) in exchange
During the experiment I was able to live on around 150 euro /month and still was not missing anything

I offered German classes from scratch and English conversation
i can explain you how to get more independent from the money system in your own life.

see a short English video about my experience in the exchange and gift economy: https://vimeo.com/user34895755
long version: 26 min: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HPZwQScJ_aA

web page on the project in spanish: http://inmersionlinguistica.wix.com/mejora-tu-ingles

i dedicate lots of time to explain about about the unsustainability and injustice of the current financial system. local money is to the economy what linux and open code is to your computer system.

how to improve your second language with only 5 minutes of your daily time:
(https://es.duolingo.com/) is free off charge and free of advertizing o listen to a german video with subtitles. http://es.lyricstraining.com/de/
Easy German video classes with subtitles:
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLk1fjOl39-50WX8xiXwIBUcbdtMjlaZSj

CASTELLANO
empezaba de no mirar la tele en 2010 (aprovechando el apagón analógico)y leer sobre la injusticias de sistema financiero que tenemos por ahora y sus alternativas.

desde julio 2014 hasta septiembre 2016 estaba haciendo un experimento social con lo que me gustaba de ver si podía cubrir mi necesidad de una vivienda en una habita sin pagar euros, sino ofrecer servicios útiles por intercambio directo durante dos año (en diferentes familias)

Concretamente ofrecí conversación en inglés o alemán o clases de alemán desde cero. proponía el tiempo de medio mes o un mes, por ejemplo y que sea en o los alrededores de Barcelona, donde tenia que ir a dar clases de alemán en dos centros cívicos.

PHILOSOPHY

if you give positive energy , you will receive it as well.

Sharing and giving enriches your life. The only challenge is to convey this message to others.
ultimately getting very much inspired by charles eisenstein : www.youtube.com/watch?v=EEZkQv25uEs

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

connector,giving and taking and exchanging information and opinions,to prepare for the changes to arrive.

i really like non comercial exchanges (LETS)
like the community exchange (ces.org.za), the timebanks
the webpage streetbank for exchanges in your neighbourhood

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

last years i mostly hosted in Barcelona, and met amazing peole, but never surfed, did not work out in norway, but did work out in albania

always try to filter out simple freeloaders and mindless party people,

pero mucho experiencia como autostopista:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wlfwd6lwv-k

Interests

becoming more independent fom the bank created interest based money: Video teaser on this https://vimeo.com/user34895755

Interest in Nature, community, ecology and ressource management, sustainability, hitch hiking, bicycle, bike sharing systems, transition culture, people who live with no o little money, feliz cieneurista

http://women.timesonline.co.uk/tol/life_and_style/women/article6928744.ece
dragon dreaming , co-housing, self organised communities, eco-villages. local currencies and time banking (to replace the artificially scarce-made Euros)

www.Fair.coop.

  • culture
  • walking
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • ecology
  • economics
  • hitchhiking
  • permaculture
  • sharing
  • empowerment
  • alternative lifestyles
  • intercultural exchange
  • degrowth
  • low budget
  • transition
  • low tech
  • dragon dreaming

Music, Movies, and Books

watching rarely movies, but loves documentaries , classical music or sounds of nature,

soft corner for some bollywood music movies (in the 90 it still was not main stream )

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

my last transition training ,
India and what little you need to happily survive

the above described social experiment
http://inmersionlinguistica.wix.com/mejora-tu-ingles (video in English)

my last cena de sentidos (beeing fed blindfolded or feed other who have been blindfolded)

blind walking in Barcelona

visiting albania

dragon dreaming
hitch hiking adventures with all those ups and downs like the roller coaster

el experimento social arriba explicado para aumentar mi independencia del dinero creado por bancos para enriquecerse por los intereses
http://inmersionlinguistica.wix.com/mejora-tu-ingles

Teach, Learn, Share

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wlfwd6lwv-k
hitchhiking

http://sacred-economics.com/film/

http://www.slideshare.net/lloro2009/el-arte-de-hacer-autostop

How to improve your language?
www.duolingo.com (gift economy)
www.lyricstraining.com learning by listening music
www.languagetransfer.org association-based learning
https://www.engvid.com/ recorded English videos with connected tests on the topic learned from beginner to advanced level
read and write in simple english: https://simple.wikipedia.org
https://www.easy-languages.org/ subtitled real life interviews in German, English,
interested in cave houses and their bioclimatic qualities: http://conny.dahost.net/hoehle/casascueva.htm
https://es.wikipedia.org/wiki/Arquitectura_subterránea

What I Can Share with Hosts

Language exchange in English or German

Knowlege about alternative economy and money systems

conversación en alemán o ingles para mejorar rápidamente una de las dos idiomas

la mujer que me habia visitado hace anos y que me impresionaba mucho: heidemarie schwermer
http://women.timesonline.co.uk/tol/life_and_style/women/article6928744.ece

energía positiva,
can do mentality

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, Hungary, Italy, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Mexico, Montenegro, Morocco, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia, Slovenia, Sweden, Switzerland, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

Germany, India, Spain, United Kingdom

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Stephan’s full profile.

My Groups