Stefan Kamph's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 4 years ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Stefan’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 17 References 9 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish; learning Catalan, Valencian, French, Italian
  • 32, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • Journalist
  • U of Chicago
  • From Lambertville, NJ, USA
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

Philadelphia and further afield

ABOUT ME

I'm a writer based in Philadelphia, PA. Over the past decade, I've lived in Chicago, Portland, and Fort Lauderdale.

I grew up on a hay farm in central New Jersey in a 300-year-old house. I went to Chicago for college, mainly because I wanted to be in a big city. I moved to Portland because I wanted to be there, and between riding bikes and making coffee, I started volunteering at the best little community radio station in the world.

Well on my way to being radicalized, I snagged a few months' work with the Mercury, a weekly paper. After that, I headed out into the great beyond, crossing the country in a solo road trip that eventually landed me in Fort Lauderdale, Florida. Starting in September 2010 I worked as a staff writer at New Times, and developed a new fondness for air conditioning.

Current interests include: traveling, starting my novel, restoring an old slide-in camper, playing poker, re-learning the guitar, cooking, and taking my dog for long walks.

PHILOSOPHY

"Sometimes you gotta not look too hard, just let the dog find you."
- Greg Brown

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCHSURFING

COUCHSURFING EXPERIENCE

(S) Hans in Stockholm
(S) Benjamin in Copenhagen
(S) Frida in Malmö, Sweden
(S) Johan in Visby, Sweden
(H) Aaron from Toledo, OH
(H) Teo from Atlanta
(H) Jeppe from Copenhagen
(H) Alejandra from TJ
(S) Arnoud in Haarlem, Netherlands
(S) Alvaro in Fort Myers, FL
(S) Chris and Tracy in Savannah, GA

Interests

Writing, reading, drawing/illustration, graphic design, getting on the radio, bicycles, self-contained bike touring, coffee, Italy, Mexico, travel, books, Chicago, architecture, urban planning, astronomy, cooking, pop linguistics, Floridiana, migration, border crossings, enclaves, ghost towns, gambling and casino culture, cults, intentional communities, Philadelphia history, the great wide open.

  • dogs
  • culture
  • writing
  • books
  • architecture
  • design
  • graphic design
  • illustrations
  • cooking
  • coffee
  • reading
  • traveling
  • drawing
  • poker
  • guitar
  • cycling
  • camping
  • astronomy
  • history
  • volunteering

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Fårö

Teach, Learn, Share

Can cook, fix bicycles, build things... umm.. I can never remember any card games except Durak (which is the best), but I always like to learn... I can tell you more about coffee (esp. espresso) than you ever wanted to know. I have a ton of really esoteric useless knowledge. Let's see what comes up. I can always recommend good things to read (for free, online).

Countries I’ve Visited

Canada, Denmark, Ireland, Jamaica, Mexico, Netherlands, Sweden, United States

Countries I’ve Lived In

France, Italy, Spain, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    5 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Stefan’s full profile. It’s free!