Christian Stober's Photo

Partially Verified

  • Payment verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Not Accepting Guests

  • 100% response rate
  • Last login 3 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Christian’s full profile. It’s free!


  • 95 References 71 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, Spanish
  • 32, Male
  • Member since 2008
  • High school math teacher
  • I studied engineering at the University of Florida.
  • From Clearwater, FL
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

I'd say I'm a very inquisitive person. I love learning new things, meeting new people, seeing new places, trying new things, and experiencing just about everything life has to offer. Along with that I have a strong DIY ethic and enjoy acquiring new skills and trying to solve problems. I tend to listen a lot and ask a lot of questions, so if we meet there is a good chance I'll probe into where you're from, what you do, what you're all about, etc. I thrive on adventure and spontaneity, although admittedly I don't always live up to these ideals when I get mired in the daily grind.

I prefer to hang out with people in relaxed settings - listening to music, playing games, sharing dinner, watching movies, or exploring/adventuring outdoors together. I tend to get worn out with nights out on the town and trying to socialize in crowded, noisy spaces, although I still do so on occasion.

Careerwise, I'm a high school math teacher. I teach in a dropout recovery program in Thornton, just north of Denver.

Overall, I'd say I'm pretty easy going. I try fairly hard to lead a non-consumerist, non-materialist lifestyle, although I'm not without my weaknesses in those departments (I can't seem to stop buying books). I also try very hard to embrace tolerance and not be judgmental. I am always interested in meeting other travelers and sharing experiences.


People should help each other.

Live adventurously.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

surf, host, meetup


Spontaneous adventure, travel, learning, the outdoors, skiing, rock climbing, caving, camping, hiking, canyoneering, science, math, engineering, teaching, live entertainment, computers, board games, video games, reading, minimalism, how things work, DIY.

  • books
  • diy
  • education
  • movies
  • video games
  • board games
  • reading
  • traveling
  • socializing
  • minimalism
  • music
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • spelunking
  • camping
  • skiing
  • rock climbing
  • teaching
  • engineering
  • mathematics
  • science
  • budget travel

Music, Movies, and Books

Music: Mainly alternative, folksy, ska, punk. I really like The Decemberists, Against Me!, Reel Big Fish, Lucky Boys Confusion, Less Than Jake. I really enjoy sing-alongs while someone plays the guitar.

Movies: The Shawshank Redemption, Into the Wild, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, Hackers, The Fifth Element, Go, October Sky, Inception, Captain Fantastic

Books: All the King's Men, Harry Potter, The Count of Monte Cristo, Ender's Game, and Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance area all great. I have been reading more sci fi, assorted humorous fiction, travel fiction, and travelogues over the last few years. I usually prioritize personal recommendations above all else to shape my reading, watching, and listening habits, so let me know if there's anything you really love.

This seems like the best section to throw in some of my favorite quotes from books:

"The place to improve the world is first in one's own heart and head and hands, and then work outward from there." - Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance.

"The world is full of power and energy and a person can go far by just skimming off a tiny bit of it." - Snow Crash

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Hiking, canyoneering, and backpacking in depths of the Colorado Plateau.

Teach, Learn, Share

I know a fair amount about education, computers, science, the technical aspects of live entertainment, and budget travel, and have a reasonable grasp on a number of outdoor activities like camping and skiing. I'd be glad to share my knowledge in those realms.

I love learning about just about everything, so fill me in on your area of expertise!

Countries I’ve Visited

Albania, Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Belize, Botswana, Brazil, Cambodia, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, El Salvador, France, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, Hungary, Indonesia, Italy, Laos, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Mexico, Montenegro, Morocco, Namibia, Netherlands, Nicaragua, Peru, Poland, Portugal, Singapore, Slovakia, South Africa, Spain, Swaziland, Switzerland, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine, United States, Uruguay, Vatican City State, Venezuela, Viet Nam, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Countries I’ve Lived In

United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches 9a938eb8eddceeeb3ee4276e3d530a48c5fcca7895c8f13b8b23592736f3d037
    18 Vouches
  • Pioneer 9e5c6d07410be6ad972e78858727f5a200c4ebab1f9bb897eb4d7cbee90959a8
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see Christian’s full profile. It’s free!

My Groups