Sophia's Photo

Verified Profile

  • Payment verified
  • Phone verified
  • Government ID not verified

Accepting Guests

  • Last login about 10 hours ago

Join Couchsurfing to see Sophia’s full profile.


  • 35 references 16 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English; learning Khmer, Spanish
  • 48, Female
  • Member since 2012
  • No occupation listed
  • No education listed
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

Started VanLife w my pooch. Currently traveling USA and eventually Canada & Mexico w other Nomads. Come connect with me if you're traveling too.


I am a deep person. I am mainstream media, but I am far from mainstream as an individual. I love to laugh, love to eat, love to cook, love to have adventures near and far. I am easy going and considerate. I love watersports, adventures into foreign lands and new discoveries. I am happiest working with those in need and empowering those less fortunate.

I was taught to always treat others the way I want to be treated so that's what I do. Another important thing for me is to find my passion and live it out.

Why I’m on Couchsurfing


To meet like minded people who enjoy travels and to have deep and meaningful conversations that would allow us to be seen for who we are.


CS here is different than the intimate CS I experienced in UAE, but that doesn't mean it can't change. Successful anything requires time and energy.


Travels, foods, cooking, watersports, adventures, languages and the outdoors.

  • cooking
  • instructor
  • traveling
  • outdoor activities
  • hiking
  • backpacking
  • camping
  • scuba diving
  • communications
  • languages

Music, Movies, and Books

These are the pleasures that I currently do not have a lot of time for. But I do listen to a lot of self improvement audios.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Life is short and we often forget what we've accomplished when life gets us in a rut. Here's a reminder for myself when I have those moments.

-I backpacked around the world for 3 years. I learned and grew so much during my travels. Had such a great time. Met mother Teresa in Calutta and volunteered whenever I can.

-discovering myself as an individual and as a woman

-Did a mission trip during the summer of 2005 with in Mozambique. THAT WAS AWESOME!! Those people are amazing! That was a spiritual growth for me! I was more blessed than the people I went to help!

-Traveling Australia and the outback.

-Taking a camper van across America with a Harley Davidson and my niece and nephew in tow.

-Camping in the middle of nowhere, hearing wolves howl while grown men run for cover. (I still giggle about it)
-Saving a friend from a black widow spider.

-Trekking the 2nd highest mountain in Oman, Jabel Ahkdar.
-Hiking Wadi Shab, Wadi Bini Khalid.
-Putting 3000km on my car on a 4 day weekend with a surfboard in tow. We managed to surf, camp, visit hot springs, forts and ruins, hiked more wadis, got lost, but discovered the kindness of locals.
-Long weekend drives, picking up hitch hikers, spending hours on end at a restaurant savoring one dish at a time with a good read.

-Living in UAE and having easy access to travels nearby. (living here has opened my eyes to the Middle Eastern cultures greatly.)

-working for a company that allows me to work one on one with royal family members and their high profile guests.

Teach, Learn, Share

I speak English and Khmer. I'm a HUET and PADI diver. I currently manage a bakery nearby.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Yumm, I'll bring donuts from my shop lol!

Countries I’ve Visited

Australia, Bahrain, Cambodia, Canada, France, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Italy, Kuwait, Laos, Malaysia, Mexico, Mozambique, New Zealand, Oman, Philippines, Qatar, Singapore, Thailand, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Viet Nam

Countries I’ve Lived In

Australia, Cambodia, Philippines, Thailand, United Arab Emirates, United States

Old School Badges

  • 1 Vouch

Join Couchsurfing to see Sophia’s full profile.

My Groups