John and Dominque Surkan's Photo

Unverified Profile

  • Payment not verified
  • Phone not verified
  • Government ID not verified
  • Address not verified

Accepting Guests

  • 14% response rate
  • Last login about 2 months ago

Join Couchsurfing to see John and Dominque’s full profile. It’s free!

Overview

  • 44 References 32 Confirmed & Positive
  • Fluent in English, French; learning Spanish
  • 72, Other
  • Member since 2009
  • John Self Employed and Dominique is a Hospice Nurse
  • John Grade 12 and many courses in Busines and Domi Degree...
  • No hometown listed
  • Profile 100% complete

About Me

CURRENT MISSION

To meet and help as many people in the world as Posilble.The World is a Village

ABOUT ME

We are two very outgoing people 70 and 66 and interested in people that are doers. We are interested in naturists, travel, community living,, organic farming, I John have had Fibromyalgia in the last ten years which hopefully will go into remission. My wife works in the local hospice house and a psychiatric hospital as an RN. We have six children and 11 grand children and more on the way scattered throughout the world . Due to my Fibro I cannot travel much but would love to have you stop in. We have a 4000 square foot home and all sorts of accommodations including a Taj mahal tent . We also host a pot luck the first sat evening of the month at our home with usually 25 to 50 attending. Please follow our link for some idea of what we do. If you come here we expect you to be part of the family and just join in and not wait to be served.We have had in the past chickens and ducks, an alligator and almost enough produce to live off off. The wild animals have eaten the chicken and ducks. If you stay longer than three days you must be nice and either pay or work it off on the farm. Remember we have a dog and a test. Please follow instructions. Extra work for those who fail. Please feel free to make yourself at home and not expect to be waited on. As Dominique goes to work very early we prefer no loud noises after 9 PM and she usually works more than 50 hours a week in 13 hour shifts.

John

PHILOSOPHY

Life is short , enjoy it,

Why I’m on Couchsurfing

HOW I PARTICIPATE IN COUCH SURFING
Just come on in!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

COUCH SURFING EXPERIENCE

In the last last 8 years before my Main illness Fibromyalgia I traveled about 1,000,000 and visited about 50 countries around the world on a shoestring budget . I stayed only at hostels or at peoples places I met over the internet . My wife traveled with me half the time approximately and she spends about a month a year in France with her family as I cannot travel now. Now I recieve the world at my doorstep and can share information on whats happening throughout the world. Its also our way of trying to show our family what they should do with their families. We expect guests to participate in our household activities and not treat this as a hotel.

Interests

People, people, travel, gardening, green, politics, the world , ( I attend four discussion groups a week in Port Charlotte I also was a tour guide in Alaska. I have no interest in sports or music or eating out or going out . I am very computer literate and try to be up to date on current affairs and do not mind expressing my opinion even though it may be upsetting to some but do enjoy discussing it. Dominique is a Hospice RN Case manager and psychiatric nurse. She is from France and Canada. We like visitors and have had a monthly Pot Luck party for many years with usually 26 to 50 guests every month and hope you can attend

  • animals
  • dogs
  • chickens
  • dining
  • partying
  • gardening
  • politics
  • traveling
  • music
  • sports
  • nursing
  • tourism

Music, Movies, and Books

My wife is a big reader, , I don't read books but spend a lot of time on the computer and watching TV. Water therapy and with friends when I can.

One Amazing Thing I’ve Done

Found my wife in Paris. Beat that!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! In 1989 the year the Berlin Wall came down. I helped take it down. Ask to see some. I still have the same great wife Dominique 26 years later.

Teach, Learn, Share

Anything I have or know. How to buy food cheap and how to dehydrate food. Love to learn all I can from people. You can learn from everyone. I am still a farmer at heart so can do most things or teach people about them. We have a great dog named Deja who speaks French and would love to meet you. Our family is scattered throughout The US , Canada and France. 6 kids 11 Grand kids.

What I Can Share with Hosts

Dried fruit and a different and interesting place. All we ask is you take the sheets and pillow case of and put towards the laundry room when your finished and leave the place a bit better than you found it. Its worked out pretty good so far. Read our references to see what others think.

Countries I’ve Visited

American Samoa, Australia, Austria, Bahamas, Barbados, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Canada, Costa Rica, Cuba, Czech Republic, England, France, Germany, Greece, Hong Kong, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Mali, Mexico, Moldova, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Panama, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Scotland, South Korea, Spain, Switzerland

Countries I’ve Lived In

Canada, Costa Rica, France, United States

Old School Badges

  • Vouches
    2 Vouches
  • Pioneer
    Pioneer Badge

Join Couchsurfing to see John and Dominque’s full profile. It’s free!